MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Hardware all freaked out
August 18, 2019, 07:19:21 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 18, 2019, 07:19:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hardware all freaked out  (Read 1218 times)
Flopper
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 24, 2004, 01:40:06 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:


Win XP Is the OS. The motherboard is from ECS ELITEGROUP, K7S5A PRO rev:5.0. The CPU is an AMD Athlon AX2100DMT3C. The graphics card is a GeForce 4 MX440-SE S64M. The bios chip is AMIbios, and i have a Maxtor 40Gb AT Hard Drive. No Error Msg. Hope this Info is enough.


OK. Please Bear with me. A friend called me to help with his PC. He said he droped his optical mouse and when he picked it up the batteries had fallen out. he replaced them and the pointer would move around but wouldn't click on things. He next shut it down with thw power button and rebooted. The system booted but didn't go past loading the hard drive. So, he powered down again and when it came back up there was no display, the leds in the cd and dvd players just keep blinking. The A Drive is not working, and the HD won't load.

Ok, I put the HD, Floppy, CD and DVD drives in My system and the A:, CD and the DVD drives worked fine. The HD didn't. It will only boot to the point where itshows what HD it is then stops. It won't let me use a boot disk opr the CD Drives to repair the HD.
So, I like put a good HD into hic system and cleared CMOS. Both by jumper and by removing the the bat for 15 min. I reseated all the cables in the thing and then reseated the RAM. I replaced his graphics card with one of mine that I know is good. Now we should have a puter with a new graphics card and HD. I made sure everything was in its proper place and fired her up and Wala! Same thing happend no display the leds keep blinking and the A: drive is inaccssesable. The power supply and the CPU Fans are working and it humming away so it sound like the power supply work. Finaly i notice that when i powered down that the number lock led on the keyboard stay on until I un plug it.

Well there you have it Pleaseeeeeee help if ya can. couse I'm at a lose. I recken that besides a bad HD  that leaves the mainboard, CPU or the BIOS chip. How Can I Tell??

Thanx and Again Sorry for the Book8)


If you perfer you Email me.
mailto: dean@grics.net
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2004, 02:55:02 PM »

Do you get ERROR CODE BEEPS on boot-up?
What are they?


Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Flopper
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2004, 04:38:06 PM »

Hello, Sorry to say but no I'm not getting any beeps. but i do know now that there is power getting to the drives. Welp I'll keep an eye out fer ya.

thanx again
Dean
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2004, 04:51:41 PM »

Just install 1 Device at a time,starting with the HDD.
Make sure it's detected correctly..then the Floppy...CD-Roms

post back...

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Flopper
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2004, 05:11:11 PM »

there isnt any way to delete them i have no display... that i know of that is. i have  booted up addi9ng one thing at a time and it stays the same. I'm beginning to thing he has a bad motherboard all together
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2004, 05:16:06 PM »

Can you try another monitor to c if thats it?

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Flopper
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2004, 05:19:52 PM »

i wish that was it but the two monitors i have are working great  on my pcs  and i have already tried swiping out graphics cards with two diffrent cards that i know work  And still nothing.
Bummer huh?

Dean
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 18, 2018, 06:59:50 PM