MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: Odd network/internet problem
November 14, 2019, 05:27:23 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 14, 2019, 05:27:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Odd network/internet problem  (Read 801 times)
palin112
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 24, 2004, 06:44:07 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Win98SE
Problem Application Name & Version: N/A
Problem Hardware Make & Model: N/A
Error Messages: N/A



Alright an odd thing has happened to my work computer.  The system was running fine when I left it thursday.  Someone got on the thing between then and now (mon) and visited some sites that installed a bunch of spyware.  After an ad-aware cleanout, I noticed I could no longer reach the internet.  I can access my network.  No applications that use the internet are "getting out" of my network.  The rest of the 10 computers in the office are not suffering from this.  I cannot figure out what went wrong.  So I removed some more spyware with the help of some websites (on another computer) and still haven't resolved the issue.  I can access documents on our file server, but no program (MIRC, IE6, the "ping" command in command.com).  I have reset all internet options to default and have attempted the internet connection wizard a few times to boot.

Anyone ever encounter this prob before?  Also, my DSL router is working properly and the DHCP is assigning my comp and IP.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2004, 06:47:08 PM by palin112 » Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2004, 07:01:45 PM »

Click>START>RUN
Type in winipcfg...click RELEASE ALL...click RENEW ALL...click OK.

Try and open a WebSite.

Cactus
« Last Edit: May 24, 2004, 07:02:30 PM by Cactus » Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
palin112
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2004, 07:21:35 PM »

Thanks Cactus, but that did not fix the problem.

Additional Info:  Each time the system is rebooted and IE is opened the status area shows an attempt to find it but quickly give the couldn't find page page.
Attempts to ping anything i.e. www.yahoo.com results in a server not found error.
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2004, 03:51:49 AM »

Try running:
Ad-Aware
http://download.com.com/3000-2144-10045910.html?part=69274&subj=dlpage&tag=button

SpyBot
http://www.tucows.com/adnload/310138_117317.html

Let them clean out what they find.

If that doesn't work download and run HiJackThis
Create a folder on your desktop and call it HJT install into that folder.After running HJT,save the logfile,open it with Notepad,copy and paste the Logfile here.


Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
palin112
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2004, 11:54:39 AM »

I have already formatted the hard drive and reinstalled windows.  Everything is working fine now.  I was wanting to reinstall the OS anyways due to some serious stability issues.  Ty for your help.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 25, 2018, 04:14:41 AM