MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Add Printer wizard not working
November 21, 2019, 04:26:24 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 21, 2019, 04:26:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Add Printer wizard not working  (Read 1082 times)
upiniraq
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 25, 2004, 08:07:32 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:WinXP
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages: Operation could not be completed


I had alot of spyware and a couple browser hijackers on my pc. After cleaning it out using hijack this and adaware I couldn't access my printer. Looking in the printers folder it wasn't there anymore. So I tried to reinstall it. Trying to run the add printer wizard gets a message of "Operation could not be completed".

Running the install disc runs through installation of drivers but when it comes to the end it says there was a problem and hardware was not successfully installed.

No clue what to do here. If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it.
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2004, 12:32:32 AM »

Does the printer show up in Device Manager?
If its there ,delete it or remove it.
Re-boot and have Windows find it,it should re-install for you.

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
upiniraq
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2004, 07:26:37 AM »

No, it doesn't appear in the device manager. It's like the pc won't allow printers to be connected. I don't understand it all that well but my first thought was that a reg key got deleted by accident.
Logged

 
upiniraq
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2004, 05:51:13 PM »

Anyone have any ideas?
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 15, 2018, 01:32:51 AM