MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Computer Related Discussions arrow General Discussions arrow Topic: hard drive error
May 29, 2020, 11:47:34 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 29, 2020, 11:47:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: hard drive error  (Read 929 times)
dreamaura
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: June 08, 2004, 01:55:02 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



i have an hp tower microsoft windows me 4.90.3000.... i think i did a very stupid thing i had ccleanerv1.09 and cleaned out my hard drive from all the leftover stuff from deleted hard drive of course i backed up what i deleted but had problems after all was done so did a system restore and it deleted the program and the backup now when i turn on my puter i get this message: Smart failure predicted on hard drive O: Maxton 4K040H2 - (pm)
warning immediatly back up your data and replace your hard disk drive a failure may be iminent
press F1 to continue.

i dont get any other errors and im here etc seems to be running fine i need help to see if hard drive is really going or did i remove needed stuff and how do i fix please any help would be so appreciated thank you Sad

Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2004, 05:22:41 AM »

Run ScanDisk...
Goto START>RUN
type  "scandisk" without the quotes
click OK
Choose the drive you wish to scan
Put a dot in THOROUGH
and a CHECK MARK in "Automatically Fix Errors"
Click START

Hopefully this will help.

Cactus
« Last Edit: June 09, 2004, 05:23:26 AM by Cactus » Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
dreamaura
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2004, 04:57:21 PM »

did a thourough scan it found nothing however did go to www.maxtor.com and got a powermax dianostic disk maker and its free so if this helps anyone please pass it on it did find a problem and hopefully fixed it so smiling here ty for your help huggsssssssssssss
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page January 01, 2020, 04:26:41 AM