MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Security & Viruses arrow Topic: win98 boot
November 13, 2019, 08:14:24 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 13, 2019, 08:14:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: win98 boot  (Read 1646 times)
petrat
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: June 18, 2004, 01:28:42 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:win98
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:packard bell
Error Messages:



After updateing Mcafee with a patch ,I tried going to outlook to check mail. I got an error message saying a fatal error has occurred and I will be shut down. Restarted the pc but it will never get beyond the win98 logo screen . Suspect a virus Huh?Huh?
I suspect I will have to use recover disk as a last resort unless someone has a suggestion
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2004, 01:52:55 PM »

Hi,

Can you boot up in Safe-Mode?

If so, once in Windows, run MSCONFIG and uncheck the Mcafee entries on the Startup tab
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
petrat
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2004, 02:04:19 PM »

Tried booting in safe mode and the same problem exists (cant get
past logo screen)
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2004, 02:12:06 PM »

Hi,

Before using the Recovery CD, I would boot to a command prompt and run scandisk on all hard drives with a surface scan to verify there are no bad sectors.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
petrat
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2004, 04:47:41 PM »

Sorry my age is more than my IQ. How do I boot to command promt
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2004, 05:44:45 PM »

Hi,

Hit F8 right before the Windows Logo screen on bootup to access the Boot Menu
Then select Command Prompt Only

Once at the prompt type "scandisk /a" <ENTER> (no quotes)
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
petrat
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2004, 11:47:26 AM »

When I go to command prompt, a speel about Mcafee starts
to run automatically. It ends with a line saying
'scanning for 11219 viruses trojans and variants
checking memory for viruses is ok'
Then my command line is hosed up and I cant run scandisk
I was incorrect to a previous question in that I can boot
up in safe mode and I did uncheck Mcafee in msconfig but
with the same result.
What about trying to unload Mcafee in the safe mode ?
Logged

 
petrat
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2004, 10:49:55 AM »

REmoved Mcafee in safe mode and it solved the problem. Thanks
 You can close it out
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 17, 2017, 03:32:56 AM