MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Access to Computer
June 07, 2020, 07:10:52 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 07, 2020, 07:10:52 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Access to Computer  (Read 1005 times)
trvsastha
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 11, 2004, 06:03:47 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Xp and Win 2000
Problem Application Name & Version: Log in
Problem Hardware Make & Model: IBM compatible
Error Messages: Unable to login

I am unable to access the system because the system is set with access by administrator and Password. I do not remember the password and so am unable to access the system. I can not reformat the disk because important data is stored in the Hard drive.
Can any one suggest how I can login, please?

Thanks
(You may send email direct to my mail id also - trvsastha@excite.com)




Logged

Ram (Fremont)
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2004, 06:13:09 AM »

In the older machines,if you remove the c-mos battery for a moments,(30 seconds) it will go to a defaut state. This will clear any passwords you may have stored. Now with that said, you will need to set-up your BIOS perimeters again. You can use the default settings if you wish. This will NOT erase/modify any files or programs on your hard drive.
For the newer machines, the password can be reset to default in the BIOS section as you first turn on the computer. In some cases tho, it may be necesary to remove the battery also. Be sure to put the battery back in as it keeps the computer time and date stamp running after the machine is turned off/shut down.

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
trvsastha
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2004, 06:34:23 AM »

quote:
Originally posted by Cactus

In the older machines,if you remove the c-mos battery for a moments,(30 seconds) it will go to a defaut state. This will clear any passwords you may have stored. Now with that said, you will need to set-up your BIOS perimeters again. You can use the default settings if you wish. This will NOT erase/modify any files or programs on your hard drive.
For the newer machines, the password can be reset to default in the BIOS section as you first turn on the computer. In some cases tho, it may be necesary to remove the battery also. Be sure to put the battery back in as it keeps the computer time and date stamp running after the machine is turned off/shut down.

Cactus



Thanks a lot.
Will try it out and update.
This is what I understand:
As the system is switched on, get to BIOS setting; what I request is, where and how to reset password to default?
(Sorry for being dumb)
Thanks
Ram
Logged

Ram (Fremont)
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2004, 06:43:26 AM »

Try and pull the CMOS battery....wait a few minutes and put it back in.
See if that resets it.

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 04, 2017, 04:13:25 PM