MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: No IDE Devices detected
August 11, 2020, 02:18:27 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 11, 2020, 02:18:27 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: No IDE Devices detected  (Read 1660 times)
emel
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 13, 2004, 09:40:07 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows XP
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:QDI MATX Motherboard/ Maxtor 20Gb Hard Drive/CDROM
Error Messages:No IDE device detected


I had occasion to fit the motherboard listed to replace a failed Cognac Mobo. After fitting, on first power up the Operating system was recognised and booted up. However, a windows installer file was continually running attempting to install an App. (This may have been the owner's original problem, described to me as a Virus). Cancelling did not resolve as the MSI kept reappearing. I decided to attempt to Uninstall the App. via Add/Remove Programs. On doing so the machine BSOD'ed. Since then the HDD is only intermittently (about 1 in 10 times) recognised by the BIOS and the CDROM is not being recognised at all. I have tried the following:
Checked all connections.
Replaced I/F cables.
Removed I/F cable from 2nd IDE channel and rebooted m/c. CDROM now has power and will work mechanically. When I/F cable refitted - nothing
Checked PSU
Tried HDD auto detection in BIOS. Sometimes it recognises the HDD. However, on Save and Exit, when the m/c reboots, I again get no Primary or Secondary IDEs found.
Tried Manually defining HDD in BIOS. Again the parameters are accepted but are not saved on exit from BIOS setup (using F10 Save & Exit).
Reboot with DOS system disk in order to try FDISK and format. However drive C: not recognised (makes sense since BIOS not retaining info.)
All I've got left is a plea for HELP !:(


Logged

 
KaTaLy5t
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 501


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2004, 10:32:23 AM »

If the BIOS is not saving info then I think there might be a problem with either the BIOS chip itself or the CMOS battery. Check that the CMOS battery is seated properly. If that still doesn't work you might hace to try a new battery or BIOS chip.


Ross
Logged





You can't hug people with nuclear arms
emel
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2004, 10:39:17 AM »

Thanks for that. However, I didn't mention in my original posting that I have changed other settings in the BIOS and saved them succesfully (then changed them back to originals). Also I have checked the battery with a multimeter and it's reading o.k.
Logged

 
KaTaLy5t
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 501


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2004, 10:51:31 AM »

It's unusual that you would be able to save some settings in BIOS and not the settings for the hard drive. Can you try a different hard drive and CD drive in the computer or try the hard drive and CD drive in another computer to see if they're working correctly.

You need to try and narrow down the possibilities. You already know it's not the cables so by trying another hard drive in the system then we might be able to find out if the hard drive is at fault.

Ross

Logged





You can't hug people with nuclear arms
emel
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2004, 10:59:08 AM »

I'll give that a try Ross. However, in the next couple of days I'm heading for a beautiful part of the world called Ireland to consume large quantities of the "dark stuff". I'll try that as soon as I get back.
Logged

 
emel
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2004, 12:00:57 PM »

managed to try a replacement hard drive last night. It worked ! However still having problems on CD Rom side. The drive that is fitted is actually a DVDRom. I tried it with the 'new hard drive in place:
HDD on IDE1 (cable select)
DVD on IDE2 (cable select)
m/c boots o.k. but still nothing from DVD drive
HDD on IDE1 (Master)
DVD on IDE1 (Slave)
m/c doesn't find sys disk
DVD on it's own on IDE1 (CS)
m/c doesn't find sys disk
known working CDRom fitted in IDE2
m/c doesn't find sys disk

Once Again
HELP PLEASE !
Logged

 
KaTaLy5t
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 501


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2004, 12:06:52 AM »

Coming to Ireland? Hope you're not coming for the weather 'cause it ain't so good at the moment. Typical "Irish summer". If you're going to the pub just remember that you can't smoke in them anymore!

Anyway, back to the problem.

With the HDD on IDE1 you get it to boot up but with nothing from the DVD drive on IDE2 and with them both on IDE1 you get an error message? This is an unusual problem. It still doesn't work even with a know working CD drive either.

I'm at a loss on this one to tell you the truth!

Firstly set the HDD jumper to master and leave that on it's own on IDE1. Now try and boot up. It should boot up ok.

Now set the jumper to master on the CD or DVD drive and put that on IDE2 with the HDD on IDE1 as master. Try to boot up again and check the BIOS to see if you can see the HDD listed as Primary IDE master and the CD/DVD drive listed as Secondary IDE master. We need to see if this is a BIOS problem or what?


Ross
Logged





You can't hug people with nuclear arms
emel
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2004, 07:50:20 AM »

Ross,
Just back from Dublin/Belfast. 2 x really cool places.Personally, being a non-smoker I thought the ban was a good thing. I was talking to a waitress in one of the restaurants in Dublin and although she is a smoker, she also thought it was good.
Back to the problem. This is from my work e-mail so I don't have the machine with me. However, I will try your suggestions at home this evening.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 12, 2016, 02:24:31 PM