MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Hard Drives will not work together
June 25, 2019, 09:08:58 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 25, 2019, 09:08:58 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hard Drives will not work together  (Read 851 times)
buyer4fl
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 13, 2004, 07:12:39 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows XP Professional
Problem Application Name & Version:setting up new hard drive as a slave
Problem Hardware Make & Model:I have a SCSI IBM hard drive Model DDRSD-391300. I bought a Western Digital IDE hard drive (120g) that I tryong to set up as a slave. If I hook up th enew drive my system sees it but not my old drive. I have set the jumper on the new drive to slave. No sure of jumper setting for the old. If I disconnect the new drive then the old works fine but they will not work together. I have a Compaq Deskpro 600mghz.

Any ideas on what to do---Thanks!!
Error Messages:



Logged

 
ww1961
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2004, 09:43:20 PM »

Do you have both drives connected to the one cable "in-line"?
If so, reverse the connections.
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2004, 03:03:46 AM »

1 HDD is an IDE HDD and the other is a SCSI HDD.
They can't be on the same cable.
The SCSI HDD runs through a Host Adapter.

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 12, 2016, 04:50:40 PM