MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: desktop size shrunk
September 18, 2019, 11:34:54 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 18, 2019, 11:34:54 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: desktop size shrunk  (Read 1219 times)
Alastair White
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 16, 2004, 10:41:42 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: XP Pro
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:


My desktop normally fills the whole screen but it has suddenly just shrunk by about 1 inch. There is now a 1 inch band at the top of my screen I can't use, even when I open an application. However, the whole screen still works with my screen saver (Marine Auarium 2!). This has never happened before, but there was 1 thing I did just before it happened. I opened Task manager and ended one of the SYSTEM svchost.exe processes to see what would happen. Nothing, but after closing 2 others I had the message that windows was closing down and to close all apps else data would be lost. I'm upto date with Norton and McAfee virus protection etc, and have no virus', or to my knowledge spyware. I use Adaware and Spybot. I have two other users on the system and this does not happen if I log in as them. I restarted my PC a few times but that was no use. Please help...
« Last Edit: July 16, 2004, 10:48:51 PM by Alastair White » Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2004, 06:31:11 AM »

When you are logged in and the screen is up,can you use the Monitor Menu button to bring up the Monitor settings?From there you can stretch the screen verticaly or Horizontily.

Can you adjust it?

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Alastair White
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2004, 01:17:12 PM »

Thanks for the reply. It's not simply a matter of re positioning the screen. The wall paper uses the whole screen. Even if I change wall paper it uses the whole screen. When I log on from the XP log on screen, all of my icons are aligned down the left hand side as they should be, but at some point during loading up my personal settings the icons get shuntted down an inch. That top inch is correctly displayed for wall paper and screen saver but that's all. Its most odd.

I am using a digital input from my PC so I cannot access the horizontal or vertical positions and hence adjust it, but I can't see that as the problem though. If I log on as someone else there's no problem with the screen. Go figure...
Logged

 
Alastair White
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2004, 01:25:52 PM »

Wow! This is weired. Just by submitting the reply to you my screen has suddenly gone back to normal. How odd is that?
Logged

 
Alastair White
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2004, 01:57:47 PM »

This is so odd. Having thought it had sorted itself out - how I've no idea, when I logged off and rebooted my PC just to check the problem still exists ..... so .... as before - help!
Logged

 
Alastair White
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2004, 04:42:08 PM »

Well - I think I have finally found the cause of the solution. Using a great little utility by Mike Linn called startup monitor I was able to isolate the offender. Surprise, surprise it is Norton's Disk doctor (DD). Using DD you can choose to monitor a number of processes such as hard disk, internet connection and so on. These can be minimised or snap to, you guessed it, that 1 inch grid at the top od the screen. However, if you automatically start DD but disable the monitoring processes that grid appears for no reason and it looks like your screen has shrunk. So, prevent DD from loading and you'll be fine or, make sure there is at least one process running. Well, there you go.....!
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 10, 2016, 12:25:08 AM