MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Monitor
July 18, 2019, 04:52:11 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 18, 2019, 04:52:11 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Monitor  (Read 1404 times)
george1
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 17


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 18, 2004, 09:50:17 PM »

Hello, When my friend boots his PC the monitor does not come on. He has to press the start up button, then it eventually comes on.
Any help appreciated
Regards,
George

ps: It has a new graphics card, runs 98se and all seems OK in device manager
Logged

 
shplad
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 160


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2004, 09:14:41 AM »

george1:

Every day as a technician I hear of symptoms that I've never heard of before, and this is no exception.

That being said, it does sound like it could be a power management problem. Does he have power management enabled for video in Power options in Control Panel? If that is disabled, does he have any power management options for video enabled in the hardware setup utility?

You say he has a new video card. Did he check the manufacturer's website for problem reports of this nature? there may be new drivers which solve the problem available on the website.

Of course, you may need to contact the manufacturer's tech support hotline to speak with one of their technicians.

shplad
« Last Edit: July 20, 2004, 09:16:53 AM by shplad » Logged

 
george1
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 17


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2004, 03:55:25 PM »

Hi shplad, Have looked at all the things you mentioned and solved nothing. Could there be a fault with the motherboard ? have swapped memory/processor/power supply etc from another PC built the same way and no results in solving the problem.
Regards,
George
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2004, 04:05:55 PM »

Try unplugging the Monitor...reboot...until you get no signal error.
Plug back in the Monitor and re-boot.

Also in the Device manager check for yellow exclamation marks.
Let us know.

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
george1
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 17


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2004, 04:25:52 PM »

Hi I have done all you asked and nothing changes Undecided
Logged

 
george1
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 17


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2004, 04:50:50 PM »

Hi Guys, All seems to be OK in all aspects as I have an identical PC also here. The monitor works OK on the other PC so we can rule that out.
Not being that good at PC's could there maybe be something in the BIOS at fault or setup. I dont know, but it certainly tries the mind out.
George
Logged

 
george1
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 17


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2004, 06:36:51 PM »

Hi All, I have not been able to resolve this problem yet. Could there be a problem with the motherboard ? as all other options of possible faults have been looked into.
I even sent an e-mail to PC Chips and asked them, never even got a reply from them.
Regards,
George:(
Logged

 
george1
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 17


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2004, 05:49:18 PM »

Hi Guys, As a last resort  have e-mailed the supplier of the motherboard. They are willing to test it for me. I will post my results of them testing it.
Regards,
George
Logged

 
george1
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 17


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2004, 08:56:50 PM »

Problem with motherboard, matter resolved 8)8)8)Cool
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 25, 2018, 07:48:46 AM