MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: CMOS ERROR,help please.
November 19, 2019, 03:55:12 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 19, 2019, 03:55:12 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: CMOS ERROR,help please.  (Read 820 times)
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 07, 2004, 02:12:57 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:


windows 98,,,upon starting computer before windows loads,I get a cmos error having to do with no cmos battery or something like that.
I have no idea about this so can anyone explain what where and how please?
Logged

 
KaTaLy5t
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 501


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2004, 02:18:14 PM »

The CMOS is what stores all of your BIOS(Basic Input/Ouput System) settings. If there is no CMOS battery or the battery is dead then the BIOS will not be able to store any of the settings it needs to make the computer run properly. For example if the BIOS can't store the proper CPU frequency then the CPU may be running slower than it's supposed to.

I would say the battery is dead and you'll need to get a new one if it is. Firstly though, just open the case and look for the battery, it looks like a big watch battery. When you find it take it out and then replace it, making sure it's seated properly. Turn the computer back on and see if this fixes it. If it's still not working then you'll need to go and buy a new battery. Take out the battery and bring it to your local computer store and they should be able to give you a new one.

Hope this helps.

Ross
Logged





You can't hug people with nuclear arms
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2004, 12:27:49 AM »

I believe it will,,and I thank you very much.
Logged

 
KaTaLy5t
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 501


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2004, 01:08:35 PM »

You're welcome!
Logged





You can't hug people with nuclear arms
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 24, 2016, 04:47:16 AM