MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Hard drive accessing at bootup for 30 min
June 07, 2020, 12:33:40 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 07, 2020, 12:33:40 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hard drive accessing at bootup for 30 min  (Read 688 times)
mdalton
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 22, 2004, 09:22:18 PM »

I have a Windows 2000 system.  At bootup my hard drive acts as if something is accessing it and my system idle process is at 95% this will go on for about 30 min.  I have ran a program to see what is loading at start up, I have only three things none of which would be causing this to happen.  Ran spybot, adaware and cwshredder all found nothing.  Any ideas would be great before I reload everything.  Thanks.
Logged

 
KaTaLy5t
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 501


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2004, 05:42:14 PM »

There was a discussion about the SIP(System Idle Process) on this forum not so long ago. The system idle process is a way of counting how much processor capacity is free. When you look at the SIP and it says that it's at 95% that means that 95% of the processors capacity is IDLE. Another way of putting this is to say that only 5% of your processors capacity is in use. So there's nothing to worry about. As I write this my SIP is between 88% and 99%, the name says it all really: System IDLE Process

If the SIP was a 0% then you'd have a problem because this would mean that 100% of you processors capacity is in use.


Hope this answers your question.

Ross
Logged





You can't hug people with nuclear arms
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page January 04, 2020, 01:38:54 PM