MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Here`s a lulu for the experts.
July 18, 2019, 12:00:32 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 18, 2019, 12:00:32 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: Here`s a lulu for the experts.  (Read 2767 times)
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 26, 2004, 05:09:46 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:


Recently I removed windows XP Pro from my hard drive using a windows 98 startup disk and fdisk and the correct procedure up to where you format.
Here is what happened,upon setup windows 98 I get a message about x amount of space required on C: to install this operating system yet windows xp pro WAS at one time on it.
Whats the story on this?Huh?Huh?/
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2004, 12:10:06 AM »

Can you send me this drive, Wayne? Wink

Okay, can you tell me the brand & model of the harddrive? Maybe it's time we tried the HDD's manufacturer utilities on it.

J.
Logged

Jord.
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2004, 01:04:06 AM »

Hi again Jee,(you gonna get sick of me lol)
HDD is western digital  caviar 22500
       model# AC22500-23LA
       ccc    A8 23 JUL 97
       dcm    ALBBEVHOBBDB
       IBM P/N 76H7236
       IBM FRU 76H5822
       CAPACITY 2560MB
  That enough of the info that was on it?
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2004, 01:33:20 AM »

How can I get sick of the person who has been taking up my email the past couple of days, making sure I got something useful to do with it but for get SPAM? Smiley

But okay Wayne, goto http://support.wdc.com/download/index.asp#diagutils and download & run the DLG Diagnostic program. The readme on the page says what you need to do with it. Smiley
Logged

Jord.
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2004, 01:46:26 AM »

thanks Jee I`ll go there,,do you really mean I`m better then spam? lol
Logged

 
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2004, 01:50:40 AM »

ps jee,,can I put it on a floppy and run on the puter with hdd problem even tho there is no operating system on it?
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2004, 02:07:53 AM »

No, you need a PC with Windows installed on it to download & put it on a floppy. Smiley

You're way better than SPAM, Wayne. You're human and you spell things correctly. Plus you don't wonder about my pe*is size or whether my girlfriend cums enough. Grin

« Last Edit: August 27, 2004, 02:08:53 AM by Ageless » Logged

Jord.
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2004, 02:13:40 AM »

lol Jee,,maybe I dont say it out loud ROFLMAO
I have downloaded it using my puter Jee,just didnt know if it would work on the disabled one by using a floppy,,it`ll be a first for me.
BTW lol um er ah never mind lol.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2004, 02:19:48 AM »

For helping someone with 6 grandkids, I thought I could say that. Smiley

Oh and the program should work okay on the disabled computer, as long as you have still got the boot sequence set to boot with the floppy first. The newly made floppy should work with its own DOS.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2004, 02:23:07 AM by Ageless » Logged

Jord.
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2004, 02:24:43 AM »

sorry,,,guess my sense of humor needs some work huh?
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2004, 02:33:35 AM »

Cool

I wouldn't know what made you say that. Embarrassed
Logged

Jord.
Techs In A Sec
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2004, 02:52:06 AM »

Maybe I'm missing something here but...The Fdisk you used..Did it have large disk support? If not then thats your problem

Logged

Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2004, 03:03:47 AM »

Even if Wayne fdisked to FAT16 & then formatted the drive, it shouldn't have mattered, for Windows 98 doesn't use up over 2GB of harddrive space for installation & swap file.

Yet as far as I know, he followed my emails to the letter, which included the press Y for drives over 512MB, so that shouldn't be the problem. Smiley
Logged

Jord.
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2004, 07:34:59 PM »

tried two of those diagutils,,one says too new for present hdd version, and the other I couldnt get to run after it showed up in dos,,no read me file to find out how.
Is it possible the windows98 startup disc has too new drivers for my cdrom? maybe thats why I cant install windows98?
« Last Edit: August 28, 2004, 07:43:01 PM by wayne1721 » Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: September 01, 2004, 10:06:39 PM »

I don't think the generic drivers changed anything much since 1998, so that shouldn't be the problem. Which utils did you try Wayne?
Logged

Jord.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page May 20, 2018, 10:22:39 PM