MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: I can't access any email program or website
December 14, 2019, 08:49:14 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 14, 2019, 08:49:14 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: I can't access any email program or website  (Read 1388 times)
Stardustdiamond
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: September 03, 2004, 12:52:13 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows XP
Problem Application Name & Version: (DSL) Compuserve, Hotmail
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:




I have this weird problem.  I am trying to figure this out for my parents computer. It seems that you can't access any email program or website.  For example, if you log on to compuserve.com to check your email, it won't let you , it goes into a blank page that says.. can not display or something like that.  Also, tried to get a Hotmail account and I can't do anything.  Its like something is blocking me from doing this.  Everything else works fine.  Can anyone help me with this??
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2004, 03:12:04 AM »

Do you have a firewall.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Stardustdiamond
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2004, 07:36:08 PM »

yes, there is a firewall installed.
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2004, 02:54:55 AM »

Try running without it...
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Stardustdiamond
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2004, 02:10:09 PM »

Yes, I thought of doing that, I haven't had a chance to go to my parents house to take a look at it. thnx
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2004, 04:13:21 PM »

Also, check the HOSTS file in C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc
It's a file that you can open with Notepad. It has no extension.

All that should be in there is a loop to localhost 127.0.0.1
Logged

Jord.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page August 22, 2018, 12:28:14 AM