MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Can't Format Hardrive
September 18, 2019, 11:24:52 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 18, 2019, 11:24:52 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Can't Format Hardrive  (Read 844 times)
aaronrjr
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: September 06, 2004, 09:57:24 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows XP Home Edition
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Gateway G6- 350
Error Messages: None



Here my problem: I installed a new Maxtor 80 GB hardrive. Installed Windows XP home Edition. System worked fine until I made the mistake of installing Service Pack 2. About half way through the download the system shutdown and re-booted. It automaticlly ran the check disk and found a lot of bad clusters, and moved the files to a new sector. It then shutdown and rebooted again and again and and on and on. I tried to use system restore no luck. I contacted Microsoft (2nd mistake)They gave me all sorts of solutions, none worked. Since I didn't have many programs or files I decided to reformat the drive and start over. I deleted the old partition and tried to set up a new partiton. I took the system almost 3 hours to setup a new partition. Now when I try to format the drive it formats 9 % of the drive and stops. I gives no error messages it just stops at 9%. I think the hardrive has been trashed. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Aaron
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2004, 09:53:01 AM »

If you run your xp disc and choose "new Installation" it should format and reinstall a new xp.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2004, 12:01:08 PM »

Else download Powermax first and run that on your harddrive. The site tells you what it is and how to use it.

If the harddrive is still okay by PowerMax's standards, then download and use MaxBlast 3. It should be able to setup your completel harddrive for you.

If Powermax gives you an error, contact the store/site where you bought your harddrive and request them to RMA your harddrive to Maxtor. It's still under full warranty.
Else ask Maxtor themselves how you can RMA this drive to them and receive a new one. https://www4.maxtor.com/en/support/service/rma/create/
Logged

Jord.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 17, 2018, 11:41:08 PM