MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: cannot access any websites from internet explorer
September 18, 2019, 05:49:21 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 18, 2019, 05:49:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: cannot access any websites from internet explorer  (Read 2042 times)
SolitaryIvy1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: September 07, 2004, 01:24:19 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: windows XP
Problem Application Name & Version: Internet Explorer 6.0
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Compaq presario
Error Messages:cannot display page



to anyone that can help:

currently i am not able to access any websites from internet explorer. no matter what i do i only get the cannot display page error.

i have an internet connection via my school's T1 or T3 line. i am able to access the internet via netscape and my my aim other messengers are working properly.

please help.

rebecca
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2004, 04:13:30 PM »

Check my advice in http://mytechsupport.ca/support/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=42&topic=5001
Logged

Jord.
SolitaryIvy1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2004, 04:40:35 PM »

i did as was suggested to me and to violet. i did not find anything in my hosts files other than 127.0.0.1 localhost. so there was nothing for me to delete.

here is my hijackthis log

Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
Scan saved at 12:34:06 PM, on 9/7/2004
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\VPTray.exe
C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Viewpoint Manager\ViewMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ps2.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Logitech\QCDriver\LVCOMS.EXE
C:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
C:\Program Files\Symantec AntiVirus\DefWatch.exe
C:\Program Files\Inverse IP InSight\PenTele\ARUpld32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\msCMTSrvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Inverse IP InSight\PenTele\ARMon32a.exe
C:\Program Files\Symantec AntiVirus\SavRoam.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Symantec AntiVirus\Rtvscan.exe
C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\YPager.exe
C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
C:\Program Files\Netscape\Netscape\Netscp.exe
C:\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://channels.aimtoday.com/search/aimtoolbar.jsp
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://channels.aimtoday.com/search/aimtoolbar.jsp
R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing
N3 - Netscape 7: user_pref("browser.search.defaultengine", "http://www.google.com/"); (C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\o5g6ppqf.slt\prefs.js)
O2 - BHO: F1 Organizer Class - {00000EF1-0786-4633-87C6-1AA7A44296DA} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\ATPART~1.DLL
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\VPTray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ViewMgr] C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Viewpoint Manager\ViewMgr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StorageGuard] "C:\Program Files\VERITAS Software\Update Manager\sgtray.exe" /r
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SpyHunter] "C:\Program Files\VERITAS Software\Update Manager\sgtray.exe" /r
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [S3TRAY2] S3tray2.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Recguard] C:\WINDOWS\SMINST\RECGUARD.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PS2] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ps2.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LVCOMS] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Logitech\QCDriver\LVCOMS.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechImageStudioTray] C:\Program Files\Logitech\ImageStudio\LogiTray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechGalleryRepair] C:\Program Files\Logitech\ImageStudio\ISStart.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [hpsysdrv] c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCDRealtime] C:\WINDOWS\realtime.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe

Logged

 
SolitaryIvy1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2004, 05:55:41 PM »

i don't know if it will help but i was playing around with some sites in internet explorer trying to get it to work. and the sites would come up with these symbols in front of the words...

for example

i typed in www.yahoo.com and hit enter and got this on the web address line-

http:///?%20www.yahoo.com

and it does that for all kinds of other sites too..and tells me that the page cannot be displayed.
Logged

 
SolitaryIvy1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2004, 06:30:20 PM »

i ran spybot and destory something i didn't know about until after i posted and my internet explorer is working fine....thank you for your time.
Logged

 
jvic
Visiting Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1238


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2004, 02:38:59 PM »

You should submit a new log so that we can see if you have any more spyware lurking on your computer.
Logged

John Vickers
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 08, 2017, 09:08:20 AM