MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Security & Viruses arrow Topic: Spybot S&D error
June 26, 2019, 10:15:20 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 26, 2019, 10:15:20 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Spybot S&D error  (Read 894 times)
jeffcox
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 97


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: September 08, 2004, 07:21:45 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows XP
Problem Application Name & Version: Spybot 1.3
Problem Hardware Make & Model: HP 1.4 GZ
Error Messages: "Unable to locate component"


When I run Spybot S&D on this particular machine, the search for threats works OK but whn I try to delete the threats the Spybot S&D program says it needs to calculate a "restore point".  This always happens the very first time that I "clean" a machine with Spybot S&D but on this machine this operation errors out.  It runs for a good 10 minutes before it reports the following error...
"Unable to locate component - This app failed to start because XMLTOK.dll was not found.  Reinstalling the app might might fix the problem."

Has anyone ever seen this before?  THis is a FRESH installation so I doubt that reinstalling the Spybot S&D app is the answer.  

thanks,
Jeff


Logged

 
benditup
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2105


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2004, 08:02:37 PM »

I'm not too sure Jeff, I'll try looking around on their forum
at Net-Integration

After installation did you try Restarting the computer
I know in the Advanced options you can disable Spybot from creating
a Restore Point...
Is System Restore turned on ?
Logged

 
benditup
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2105


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2004, 08:26:14 PM »

Hi again Jeff, I didn't see much at Net Integration, I didn't stay too long however
In Add/Remove Programs do you have an Entry for Shop At Home?
Check out this link
http://www.pestpatrol.com/pestinfo/s/sahagent.asp
Logged

 
jeffcox
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 97


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2004, 02:22:36 AM »

Benditup,

1) Those removal instructions are killers!  What do you suggest?   Buy PestPatrol?
2) The system restore was on when the failures occurred.
3) I guess I can disable Spybot's ability to capture the restore points.  I'll try that.

thanks,
Jeff

Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 10, 2017, 02:02:17 PM