MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Problem with my floppy drive
November 22, 2019, 04:57:40 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 22, 2019, 04:57:40 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Problem with my floppy drive  (Read 641 times)
Mason dixon
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: September 24, 2004, 12:52:18 AM »

Had a problem where when I went to format a floppy disk in my floppy drive and error message popped up and said no disk in drive. So i figured either my drive is bad or my floppy disk....i replaced both and still have the same problem. I have checked all my connections/wires and everything is in snug. I am trying to flash my bios so my board will accept a faster athlon xp chip. I have windows xp pro with SP2.....any ideas on what could be wrong?

Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2004, 05:43:09 PM »

Check that the floppy flatcable is positioned the correct way. It depends on the brand of the floppy drive itself, but the red stripe on the cable should point to pin 1 on the motherboard connector, and either be pointing towards the power connector on the floppy drive (majority of drives) or be pointed away (Asian drives).

Also make sure that the floppy drive is enabled in the BIOS and that it is set to 1.44MB floppy, with the Floppy 3 Mode option disabled.
Logged

Jord.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 06, 2017, 03:15:59 PM