MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: device driver!!!
October 23, 2019, 10:19:24 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 23, 2019, 10:19:24 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: device driver!!!  (Read 1081 times)
rex
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 52


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: October 04, 2004, 02:56:19 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:win 98 SE
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Hi
How can I make a device driver for my hardrive in dos mode to recognize my harddisk. I using some hardrive utilities and my disk
can't recognize them. it tells there no device driver valid. how can
I make? I boot into bootable disk...
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2004, 07:20:17 PM »

If you are using Windows device drivers, then you cannot.
The are weirdly enough for Windows. DOS shouldn't need any special device drivers. It will recognize your harddrive in the BIOS, then proceed to load from it if it is an accessbile drive. If you get any errors that say otherwise, it's 9 out of 10 times the harddrive that's bust.
Logged

Jord.
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2004, 07:45:29 PM »

Exceptions to Jee's comments include the following

1) Disk Overlay programs to enable the use of large drives on BIOS-limited motherboards
2) SCSI drives
2) drives attched to devices other than the IDE socket on the motherboard (external drives, drives on PCI cards, etc)

If your HD works in Windows, then it's likely that one of the above is the case - if it doesn't work in Wondows, then try downloading the manufacturer's test utility from their website (The HD manufacturer, that is)  - create the boot disk from the download, and run it to see what it reports.

HTH
Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2004, 08:13:39 PM »

As for your second 2) Noel, a PCI card's BIOS will take priority over the motherboard's BIOS. It doesn't need drivers either in DOS mode. Or at least, my Promise TX2 Ultra133 doesn't need any, it houses all my harddrives which are perfectly visible in DOS.
Logged

Jord.
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2004, 08:37:08 PM »

OK - guilty on three counts!
Sorry for the confusion there, rex - you can indeed ignore the second 2) in the list at least for conventional Promise cards (I've no experience with others)

Jee - my confusion arose because of XP which steadfastly refuses to install onto a Promise-bound HD unless external drivers are loaded into the boot from a floppy first. (believe me - I know!! - having spent two hours one frought evening trying to work out why I couldn't reinstall XP onto a system from which I 'd just removed it, before remembering the card!!!)
Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2004, 09:21:18 PM »

I know as well, Noel. But that's easily explained: The Windows installer doesn't use DOS.
You are already in the pre-Windows environment, so you need to install drivers for the environment and for Windows to know where the drives are. So that's why the message comes on at the start, to press F6 to install seperate drivers for any of these cards.

The drivers you then install, still with a floppy (hopelessly outdated if you ask me Wink) are Windows drivers.

Windows 2000 does exactly the same. Most irritating is when you have a floppy with multiple drivers on and you tell the Windows installer to use the wrong one. It still won't be able to find your drive. Wink
All you can do is reboot and try again...
Logged

Jord.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 28, 2018, 06:16:39 AM