MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Backup Wizard Problem
June 20, 2019, 08:13:39 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 20, 2019, 08:13:39 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Backup Wizard Problem  (Read 860 times)
mpetrodoc
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 63


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: October 13, 2004, 06:55:57 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows XP
Problem Application Name & Version:XP Home
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:The backup file could not be used.
               "D:\Backup.bkf"
               Please ensure it is a valid path, and that you have   sufficient access.



I am using the backup or restore wizard which I loaded from the Windows OS CD which came with my system. When I reach the backup type, Destination, and Name screen, I browse to use my CDR as my backup destination, I get the above error popup. I do have administrator rights on this computer.
Does anyone have any experience with this wizard who can help?  Cry
Logged

 
Wainui
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 112


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2004, 08:25:38 AM »

Are you trying to create a Restore Point
If so, then follow these instrucions.
Click Start, all Programs, Accessories, System Tools and click System Restore.
Click Create a Restore Point and click Next.
Type a description for the Restore point e.g. mpetrodoc1 and click the Create button.
Follow the prompt.



Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2004, 12:14:39 PM »

I think that the backup file could not be used because it is coming directly from a read-only memory media. Have you tried to copy the backup to the harddrive, passing by its properties and making sure the Archive check was on, the Read-Only check was off?
I think that the backup is being written to at specific points, to check its validity, something that can't be done with a CDR.
Logged

Jord.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 30, 2018, 04:14:58 AM