MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Will not Defrag!
June 06, 2020, 05:34:17 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 06, 2020, 05:34:17 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Will not Defrag!  (Read 2212 times)
bigunit
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: October 14, 2004, 07:17:23 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Winows XP Home
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Maxtor hard drive
Error Messages:Disk Defragmentor NTFS Module has encountered a problem,and must close.
Ran check disk,but it won't complete. Tried doing all this in safe mode,but still won't defrag,or check disk says it has to close because of unspecied error.
Otherwise everything works fine.
Thanks



Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2004, 08:41:06 PM »

Sounds like your defragmenter is corrupt. If you don't mind that and were looking for something else anyway, I would like to recommend the command line defragmenter DIRMS from http://www.dirms.com/ (Just DIRMS, you don't need Buzzsaw).

You just put it on the C: drive, open up a command box (Start->Run, type cmd, hit Enter) and type on the command prompt dirms {hit enter}
You see all the options for the defragmenter then. The easiest and most commonly used command is then dirms c defrag (Enter). (Note that the drive letter doesn't need the colon).

If you want us to try fixing your Windows defragger though... first off make sure absolutely nothing else is using the drive anymore. Even in Safe Mode, anti virus and firewall products will start up. Make sure they are disabled. Check Task manager what is running. Anything out of the ordinary? Try to end its process. Then try the Windows defrag again.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2004, 08:43:18 PM by Ageless » Logged

Jord.
bigunit
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2004, 11:07:43 AM »

I tried dirms,and no luck. Says it's not a regonized program in the command box.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2004, 11:12:22 AM »

You downloaded it and unzipped it, didn't you?
Logged

Jord.
bigunit
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2004, 11:16:47 AM »

Yes,I did.Downloaded it to desktop,and unzipped it there to.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2004, 12:24:33 PM »

Aaah... make sure that dirms.exe sits in the root directory of your drive, just C:\ (so its path is c:\dirms.exe)

When you open the command box, you're most probably in C:\Windows.
So type the following commands:
cd\ {hit Enter}
dirms c defrag {hit Enter}

I am sure that will start it up.
Logged

Jord.
bigunit
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2004, 06:50:53 PM »

Got it to work. You're the Man!
But have anther problem. message pops up say file C:\Program files\Compserve7.0\tool\mip.tol is corrupt.Please run chkdsk.Ran chkdsk,but stops due to unspecied error. Ran it in safe mode with no results to. Think you can help me with this problem?
Thanks for all your help so far.
Logged

 
bigunit
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2004, 06:55:00 PM »

Otherwise it did defrag the drive.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2004, 09:15:59 AM »

Sorry for the late answer, I'd been checking into this and found no good enough answer.

What you can try though is any of the following:
1. Find this file on the harddrive, check its properties, if it's read-only uncheck that option and Apply, then copy the file, save it elsewhere. Does that give you another fault?
2. Change the extension of the file, so it's called mip.BAK .. then defrag again. when doen, rename the extension back to mip.tol
3. Defrag the file only. Use this command: dirms c comfrag C:\Program files\Compserve7.0\tool\mip.tol
4. Move all files to the start of the drive instead: dirms c move lcn

Let me know what any of them options do.
But for all I have found on the net, the mip.tol file will cause general protection faults out of the blue... Thus, if any of the options above still give it errors, don't lose sleep over it. Wink
Logged

Jord.
bigunit
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2004, 06:42:19 PM »

Can I just delete Compuserve 7.0 from my computer?
Logged

 
bigunit
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2004, 09:17:48 PM »

Also I tried renaming it,but says file is unreadable,and corrupted.It's the only file that reads 0 btyes.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2004, 10:44:04 PM »

If you're not using Compuserve 7.0 then you could hypothetically delete the file off your PC. If it refuses to be deleted, try it in Windows Safe Mode.
Logged

Jord.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 19, 2018, 09:57:40 PM