MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: reformatting from safe mode?
October 19, 2019, 08:11:23 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 19, 2019, 08:11:23 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: reformatting from safe mode?  (Read 970 times)
shirtytrish
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: October 25, 2004, 09:17:22 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows '98 S.E.
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages: Network adaptor not found or not responding, and Initialization failure. Driver will not be installed.
(Apparently the driver/file is needed to run windows!)



HI!
My main pc is on windows XP Pro, my second on the network is '98.
It is this one I'm having probs with!

I had my XP formatted recently, and after trying to re-connect the network, have killed the '98 machine
I have disconnected the network cables, but still getting the same error messages.

I have tried re-installing windows '98, but now I just get a blank blue screen!
(it did re-install, got as far as configuring the drives, then stopped)

Can I format the hard-drive from safe mode?

Could I even upgrade it to XP using the disk I have on this pc, (instead, which my husband would rather I did)?

Cheers, Trish.

Logged

you're only as old as the man you feel!
shirtytrish
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2004, 09:24:22 PM »

OH! BTW, it says on start up;

3Com DOS Etherlink 111 Network driver v3.0
If that's any help!
Logged

you're only as old as the man you feel!
shirtytrish
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2004, 09:12:38 AM »

the only other idea I've got, is to out the hard drive into this pc as a secondary drive, then format it that way?
Does that sound plausible?
Smiley
Logged

you're only as old as the man you feel!
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 19, 2018, 07:28:40 AM