MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Computor won't fully boot up
July 22, 2019, 10:57:10 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 22, 2019, 10:57:10 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Computor won't fully boot up  (Read 1400 times)
fpenne
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 08, 2004, 04:49:33 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: MS 98se
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:

My computor doesn't fully boot up. It stops booting when the wallpaper comes on the screen and before the icons come up. There is a cursor and it moves. When I press ctr-alt-del the running programs box comes up and the only program it shows running is "NProtect" which is either the Norton virus program or the Norton Protected Recyle Bin. I was getting a dialogue box saying "oleaut32.dll not found" - I downloaded a copy of this .dll file and copied it into windows/system dir at the a>. The dialogue box doesn't come up anymore so I guess I did that correctly. But the computor still doesn't boot up all the way. It doesn't boot in Safe Mode either.

I have the 98se boot disk I downloaded but I don't know how to proceed once I get the A:>. Can I get windows to start up from this disk? Can I diagnose the problem using the disk? It is a Dell desktop computor and I have what Dell calls a "Recovery CD" which I assume has backup for the OS on it but it comes with no documentation at all. I don't want to re-install the OS and lose all the files.

Any thoughts?
Fpenne
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2004, 03:28:50 PM »

Change your boot sequence in the BIOS to boot from the cd drive first. Put the recovery cd in the drive and reboot. It should start your recovery cd.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
fpenne
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2004, 06:58:25 PM »

Geekgirl,

Thanks for the suggestion - sorry I haven't replied sooner but I was away. How do you get the CD drive to work from the a> or c>? Once I do then what? I don't want to re-install the OS just yet as I will then lose all my files.
thanks,

Fpenne
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2004, 02:30:52 AM »

After the PC Boots to the CD..do a REPAIR not an installation.

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2004, 04:23:37 AM »

Not trying to be wise, but watch out with that. Of all of the Dell Recovery CDs that I have used, if there is a repair option, it will still delete all partitions on the drive and reinstall Windows clean.

What you can do is boot up with the Win98SE bootfloppy, in the menu choose to start with CDROM drivers. Keep looking at the screen, for when mscdex loads, it will tell you what drive letter is appointed to the CDROM. I'll assume here it's D: (for example purposes).

On the A:> prompt, type:
D: {hit enter}
dir /ad/w {hit enter}

**the directory of the CD will be shown on screen. Check if there's a Windows, Win98 or other directory in the list. If there is type:**

cd Windows (or cd Win98) (hit enter)
dir /w {hit enter}

**If you see a lot of CAB files, you have a normal Win98SE CD. You can easily install Windows over itself by starting the setup.exe in that directory. Just type setup on the prompt and hit enter. This will only reinstall Windows, it won't do any harm to your drive or its contents.

If no Windows or Win98 directory is present, you have a problem (d'oh!).
Try to get another Win98se CD in that case. Ask friends, relatives, neighbours. Wink

Logged

Jord.
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2004, 10:04:44 AM »

One thing that may well be worth trying before going through the traumas inherent in a repair install, is fixing the registry.
Try booting from the floppy, and typing the following command


SCANREG   /FIX

If you get a 'file not found' error then try

C:\WINDOWS\COMMMAND\SCANREG   /FIX

once the command has run through, remove the floppy, and reboot to Windows - see if that helps.

If it fails, then
boot witht eh floppy again, and try a

SCANREG   /RESTORE
(or C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\SCANREG   /RESTORE)

and pick a date (of the 5 offered) just before your problems occured - this will restore the registry to one that (hopefully) was error-free, and may well allow you to bot to windows again.

HTH

Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
fpenne
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2004, 03:09:12 PM »

HTH -   I tried both restore (to the earliest date) and repair to no avail. Any other thoughts? I recently installed Norton 2005 and when the wallpaper comes up (but no icons) and I hit ctrl-alt-del to close down it shows the only program running as 'N-Protect' which I assume is the anti-virus program. Could that be preventing the machine from fully booting up? Is there a way to 'rem' Norton from the C>?
thanks -
Fpenne
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 28, 2016, 04:29:40 PM