MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Can't Start My pc
June 16, 2019, 06:12:02 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 16, 2019, 06:12:02 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Can't Start My pc  (Read 891 times)
exford
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 09, 2004, 05:00:11 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:xp pro
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model: my pc
Error Messages:-none-


My Pc was working alright when i was travelling. I switched it on when i came back but could start. it only tests the cdrom, you hear the hdd running and it's light on and that's all! nothing displays on the monitor. i've changed the vga card, hdd, ram,. at times it comes and when it goes off that's all. you can't get it back again.

Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2004, 02:46:57 PM »

Have you tried Last Known Good Configuration? Read this article
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;Q307852
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2004, 08:28:32 AM »

Is anything in the CDROM drive? What if you start with minimal hardware, meaning VGA card, CPU, RAM and harddrive, does the machine boot?
Logged

Jord.
exford
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2004, 12:22:20 PM »

NOTHING COMES ON THE SCREEN AT ALL YOU ONLY HEAR THE CD ROM RUNNING AND THE HARD DISK SPINNING. NOTHING COMES ON THE SCREEN IT'S TOTAL BLANK AND BLACK!
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2004, 01:01:00 PM »

At least your Caps Lock key works...

Sounds like you have either a dead CPU or a dead motherboard. The CPU you could test by inserting it in another system with the same CPU socket and booting up. If it boots, the CPU is okay. There's no known test for a motherboard, but for to get another motherboard (see test with the CPU).
Logged

Jord.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 09, 2019, 06:06:03 AM