MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: *.tmp is not a valid window image?
March 28, 2020, 02:57:00 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 28, 2020, 02:57:00 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: *.tmp is not a valid window image?  (Read 1609 times)
Vik
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 10, 2004, 01:13:47 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows 2000
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model: hp Vectra vl 800
Error Messages: DLL C:\...\...\..\Temp\jua1.tmp etc etc ... is not a valid windows image. Please check against your installation diskette.



My computer got hacked / had lot of viruses. I re-configured my OS (from the disc I had got from hp when I bought the computer). Now my internet does not work OR sometimes works for some time. Keeps showing error- the page could not be loaded. Also when I start my system - after login I cannot enter my system I have to log off and log back on 2-3 times. Then the message "DLL C:\..\..\Temp\jua1.tmp is not a valid windows image" starts poppoing for a few times.

I have Norton antivirus. I did scan free version of "?-don't remember" and deleted a few viruses - 1 could not be deleted (BKDR RBOT.S).

Please advice - how can so many viruses be there after re-install? Shall I re-install again?

V

Logged

 
jvic
Visiting Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1238


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2004, 01:54:44 AM »

Please download and run the following programs:

AD-AWARE

Install the program and launch it.

First, in the bottom right-hand corner of the main window
click on Check for updates now then click Connect and download
the latest reference files.

Then, in the main window: Click Start and under Select
 a scan Mode tick Perform full system scan.

Then, deselect Search for negligible risk entries.

To start the scan, click the Next button.

When the scan is finished mark everything for removal
and get rid of it. (Right-click the window and choose select
all from the drop down menu and then click Next)

Restart your computer.


SPYBOT SEARCH & DESTROY


Open Spybot Search & Destroy (Click Start, Programs,
Spybot S&D (Advanced Mode). Click online, Search for updates,
Download all available updates. Close all Browser windows,
Click ''Check for Problems''. Anything that needs to be fixed
it will show in red and have a green check in the box to the left.
Click ''Fix Selected Problems'', Then restart your computer.

Hijack This

Make sure you unzip hijack this to its own folder
such as C:\Program files as this is where the backups will
be created.Run Hijack this but do NOT fix anything.Click save
log and a log will open in notepad.Copy and paste your log in the security and viruses section
Logged

John Vickers
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2004, 08:32:23 AM »

If you just reinstalled Win2k over the previous version, without allowing it to reformat the harddrive, that would account for the viruses to still be there. Also if you have more than one partition, the virii will still continue to live on the other partitions/harddrives. Wink

quote:
I have Norton antivirus.

There's a clue.. try these online checkers or alternatively use another AV scanner to doublecheck Norton's (non) workings.
Logged

Jord.
Vik
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2004, 04:41:27 PM »

Thanks for your suggestion. But I got my problem solved. I posted my hijackthis log on the viruses section and others helped me delete the files I needed to delete.

Thanks

Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 10, 2018, 12:39:57 PM