MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Not enough memory to defrag disc
March 28, 2020, 03:38:34 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 28, 2020, 03:38:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Not enough memory to defrag disc  (Read 1251 times)
Beeley
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 11, 2004, 10:56:08 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Win 98SE
Problem Application Name & Version:Defrag
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Message: Not enough memory



I have installed a 160Gig hard drive (Samsung SP1604N) which works OK with one exception. When I try to Defrag the drive, I get the message 'not enough memory to run, try shutting some programmes down'

There are no other programmes running. When I first got this message, I only had 32MB RAM. I increased this to 128 MB but am still getting the same error message.

Anyone suggest why please?

Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2004, 01:37:41 AM »

Hi Beeley
Have you tried to use the Disk Defragmenter utility in Safe Mode?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Beeley
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2004, 12:16:09 PM »

Hi Geekgirl,

No but I have never had to do that before. There must be something wrong now. The only thing active is PC-cillin virus checker which I have never had to shut down before.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2004, 01:44:28 PM »

Is this on a system that's been on for a while already, or did you try a reboot, then immediately defrag as well? I know Windows Millennium had a horrible memory leak, where that message would pop up at any point in time.

You can try to clear your memory prior to a defrag with a program like Memturbo (trial can be found on http://www.memturbo.com/ ).
Logged

Jord.
Beeley
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2004, 01:57:43 PM »

Hi Jee,

Have tried restarting, made no difference. When there is no free memory to defrag, I can still start up other applications, even photo applications which are memory hungry. The problem is just with Win 98SE, defrag and a large disc.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2004, 02:29:44 PM »

You are not going to believe the Microsoft work-around for your problem, (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;[LN];Q229154 .. copy & paste the whole thing into a new window. It does need the ;[LN]; etc to work correctly.), so I would like to know your harddrive brand & model to find you a correct Dynamic Overlay for that drive.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2004, 02:39:00 PM by Ageless » Logged

Jord.
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2004, 02:45:09 PM »

This was taken from Microsoft

1. You are running Windows on a hard disk that is larger than 8 gigabytes (GB) and that has a cluster size that is smaller than 8 kilobytes (KB).

This configuration may occur if you use a third-party disk tool to create a partition on a hard disk that is larger than 8 GB and that has a cluster size that is smaller than 8 KB.

-or-
2.   You are running Windows on a very large hard disk that has a default Windows cluster size of 32 KB.

Their suggestion is to upgrade your Windows operating system to Microsoft Windows XP.
Or you can Repartition your large hard disk into smaller partitions.

There are also some workaround solutions in the article.

Read here
Code:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q229154/

Hope this helped
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Beeley
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2004, 04:13:53 PM »

Hi Jee & Geekgirl,

The drive is a 160Gig Samsung SP1604N. It was installed and partitioned under Win 98 with default parameters so no 3rd party drivers used.

The Motherboard is a few years old now so drivers are not available for XP.

It seems that I shall have to partition into smaller sections once the drive becomes too fragmented. It is my son's computer and he lives 350 miles away so I cannot look at the cluster size etc. for now. Thanks for your help, at least I now know that it is a design feature of Windows.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2004, 06:54:54 PM »

Glad we could be of some help
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page February 17, 2020, 11:50:53 PM