MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Mesh vs Memtest
April 04, 2020, 12:29:12 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 04, 2020, 12:29:12 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Mesh vs Memtest  (Read 962 times)
jak-c
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 12, 2004, 09:58:07 AM »



http://www.meshcomputers.com/updated/review_oct04_mat643500ppc.htm
Brand new Mesh Desktop,
Athlon 64 3500+
gt6800 NVIDIA
1024MB (2x512MB) DDR memory @ 400mhz
250GB serial hard drive
Nebula Electronics PCI TV card

I bought a Mesh Desktop a month a go and its been giving me problems ever since. Its Athlon 64 3500+, 250GB Hard drive, dvd, Audigy 2 zs pro, 256mb 6800GT graphics, and 2x512MB DDR Memory. This latter has been giving me problems.

I bought a Nebula TV card (pci) and wacked it in there - worked till you exited the programme then it gave you a BSOD and crashed. Nebula told me to check memory, Mesh told me to get rid of TV card. Windows Memory Diagnostic tool (WMDT) picked up on one of the ram sticks (512mb in the dimm0 slot) to be faulty. So Mesh (eventually) send someone around, swop the sticks of memory for new ones and same problem. The guy didnt seem to think it was the motherboard or the slots themselves but a problem with the system memory. Ive tried starting from scratch and re-installing to the factory settings - Now the TV card doesnt give me the BSOD but WMDT is still picking up on all the same errors. Whats happening?  Ive tried removing the tv card and the associated software but WMDT still picks up errors.  

Mesh have told me to reinstall Windows XP and see if that clears it up.  If it doesnt I have to send it back to Mesh and wait a few weeks before I see it again.  Does anyone have a clue what the problem is here and if it was the TV card that caused the problem or did it just turn up with some faulty hardware?  I have tried MemTest - I ran it last night for an hour and it seemed to not pick up on any errors - but then Im not going to ignore the errors WMDT picked up on.  Do I have to leave MemTest for a whole night?  

Some help here would be much appreciated, my last computer was a PS2 so this hasnt been the best introduction to the world of PC.  Undecided
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2004, 11:54:56 AM »

Don't I know you from somewhere? Wink

Have you tried running Memtest for slightly longer than an hour? It's burn in test lasts 24 hours, as far as I know. You can also try Prime95 to test your CPU & RAM with.
What did the BSOD say, though?
Logged

Jord.
jak-c
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2004, 01:01:47 PM »

small world....
anyhow, i cant recall what the BSOD said as it was only on the screen for half a second followed by a prompt restart.  It doesnt do it anymore since I reinstalled everything and mesh swopped the memory around, but WMDT is still picking up the errors. I just spoke to Nebula and after doing a test on the TV card it seems there is a hardware conflict - maybe due to bad memory or a corrupt system file or something.  Im downloading Prime95 and see what that says.  stress.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2004, 01:38:03 PM »

Okay, jak-c, let me know through either forum how you get on. Smiley
Logged

Jord.
jak-c
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2004, 02:01:26 PM »

JUST REALISED YOU NEED A INTERNET CONNECTION FOR PRIME95 AND I HAVNT GOT MY HOMEPC RIGGED TO THE OUTSIDE WORLD YET... ILL LEAVE MEMTEST ON OVERNIGHT I REKON.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 23, 2018, 11:06:14 AM