MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: cannot boot up in safe mode
September 18, 2019, 10:17:21 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 18, 2019, 10:17:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: cannot boot up in safe mode  (Read 886 times)
rustle
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 04, 2004, 07:35:11 PM »


PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: windows 98
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model: maxtor 40 gb
Error Messages:



when i hit F8 to boot up in safe mode, i get a dialogue box asking from which hard drive i'd like to boot from.  when i choose a drive or disk, it boots up as normal, i don't get the option to boot up in safe mode...any help!??!
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2004, 10:47:17 PM »

Hi rustle

Try using the MSCONFIG method

(System Configuration Utility Method)
While in Normal mode, Close all programs.
Click Start, Run and type MSCONFIG in the box and click OK
In the System Configuration Utility, on the General Tab, click the Advanced Button
In the Advanced Troubleshooting Settings dialog box, check Enable Startup Menu. Click OK. Click OK again when the System Configuration Utility reappears.
You will be prompted to restart the computer. Click Yes. The computer will restart in Safe mode.

Let us know if this helped
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
rustle
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2004, 05:15:01 AM »

what you said worked, thanks Smiley

i was having a problem with a file called "aboutmeta.exe" some sort of spyware i guess...
butnow i do believe i have it all sorted, so thanks again
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2004, 12:54:59 PM »

Glad you worked it out.
You can use SpyBot  
And: Adaware SE to help keep the nasties off your computer. Make sure you always check for updates.  
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 18, 2018, 04:01:10 PM