MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Security & Viruses arrow Topic: Need to get rid of EliteBar
December 09, 2019, 03:52:51 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 09, 2019, 03:52:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Need to get rid of EliteBar  (Read 682 times)
SkyLabAstro
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 07, 2004, 07:23:24 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Like so many others,

Download Attachment: hijackthis.txt
10.66 KBI am having the hardest time getting rid of Elitebar. I have tried Spybot, As-Aware SE, Giant Antispyware and AVG. It always comes back.

Here is my hijackthis log:
Logged

~ The sky is not the limit, nor are the stars.
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2004, 01:23:03 PM »

Hello SkyLabAstro

Scan your computer with Housecall

After using Housecall post a fesh logfile for the moderators to look at.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2004, 01:24:06 PM by Geekgirl » Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2004, 07:07:57 PM »

You need to run LSPFix first...

Download it and with all widows closed run it...put a tick in "I know what I'm doing",highlight the file calsp.dll in the Left column then click the Right pointing arrow>> and add it to the REMOVE column..click finish.
Re-boot
Now run the scan that Geekgirl suggested and then re-run HJT and post back with a fresh logfile.

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 27, 2019, 08:10:48 AM