MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: cpu running slow
November 20, 2019, 10:49:39 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 20, 2019, 10:49:39 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: cpu running slow  (Read 735 times)
George Low
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 08, 2004, 10:12:47 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows XP Home
Problem Application Name & Version:AMI 07.00T
Problem Hardware Make & Model:AMD Athlon XP2400+ and PCchips Socket A ECS M848A 1.0
Error Messages:



I Have an Athlon XP2400+ fitted to a Socket A M848A 1.0 motherboard. For some reason, the cpu is running at 1.5GHz instead of 2.0GHz as it is supposed to. Consequently, Belarc Advisor is reporting that I have an Athlon XP1800+ which I believe does run at 1.5GHz.Does anyone know what is going on here? Could it be a BIOS problem (which is AMI 07.00T)? I am new to computer innards as you may have guessed so please be gentle with me!!:-[
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2004, 10:43:40 PM »

It's most probably your Front Side Bus speed that's set to 100MHz, instead of 133MHz. Reboot your system, then go into your BIOS and look for an option that says something like CPU external frequency. If it is set to 100, try to set it to 133, then save your BIOS on exit and reboot.
Logged

Jord.
George Low
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2004, 09:46:18 PM »

Thanks Jee. This did the trick! I'm very grateful for your very prompt and helpful advice. I think I'll be a regular on this forum now!!!
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 04, 2017, 06:42:06 PM