MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: Outlook/Hotmail Issues
November 21, 2019, 08:46:10 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 21, 2019, 08:46:10 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Outlook/Hotmail Issues  (Read 3526 times)
jaktomas1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 11, 2004, 05:22:06 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Xp home sp2
Problem Application Name & Version:Hotmail Plus/Outlook 2003
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:time out while communicating with server/unable to move/delete Items


I am attempting to administer my Hotmail Plus account via Outlook 2003. I can download mail fine but when I attempt to move/delete mail from within Outlook I get a message that the system has timed out or that the mail server at Hotmail is in off line mode.

Attempts to seek solutions from Microsoft ant hotmail support staff have yielded NADA.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2004, 05:28:34 PM »

You do know that hotmail through Outlook/Outlook Express costs money these days? Something newfangled by Microsoft to get your money. It may be that, if you didn't pay for a subscription.
Logged

Jord.
jaktomas1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2004, 05:32:10 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by Jee

You do know that hotmail through Outlook/Outlook Express costs money these days? Something newfangled by Microsoft to get your money. It may be that, if you didn't pay for a subscription.


Yes, My account is a Hotmail Plus account
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2004, 05:35:49 PM »

Ok, did you check that hotmail is up&running? In other words, can you reach their page through a webbrowser?
Logged

Jord.
jaktomas1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2004, 05:38:26 PM »

Yes, everything works normally unless I am working within Outlook. Even then I can Download mail without difficulty.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2004, 05:41:24 PM »

Might be a glitch in your system. Try to disconnect from the internet, then reconnect. If that doesn't help, try a full reboot.

You do have full rights on the folder & program?
Can you try to reset your filter, otherwise?
« Last Edit: December 11, 2004, 05:43:42 PM by Ageless » Logged

Jord.
jaktomas1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2004, 05:53:11 PM »

Tried all of that. Yes I have full rights. I have two computers both experience the same symptoms
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2004, 05:57:51 PM »

Ok, then tell me how you have both of them connected to the internet. If at a point a firewall and/or router is installed, have you checked you can work through its ports?

Also, are you downloading the posts or leaving them on the server?
I must say, I have neigh on no experience with any latest Outlook, as my believes are that the program stinks, but ok. I have asked for Cactus to come take a look in case he knows something obvious that I have (most probably Smiley) overlooked.
Logged

Jord.
jaktomas1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2004, 06:04:16 PM »

i do have a router and firewall. I am connected to the internet via cable modem. is there something I need to address in regards to the router and firewall (firewall is part that supplied with Xp sp2.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: December 11, 2004, 06:17:03 PM »

Maybe the ports that need to be opened in your firewall and/or router. I am not sure what ports Hotmail Plus uses, but I can check.

In the mean time, please leave behind details on the router, like brand & model.
Logged

Jord.
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: December 11, 2004, 06:24:06 PM »

Quickly found, a readover: http://www.slipstick.com/addins/services/online.htm
Logged

Jord.
jaktomas1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2004, 06:30:47 PM »

Router D-Link model Di-524

I have downloaded and installed the most recent firmware
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2004, 06:38:15 PM »

Disable the XP Firewall...Grin

The Router has a built in Firewall.. Wink

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
jaktomas1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2004, 07:38:27 PM »

sounds good, but it still dosn't work
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 26, 2018, 05:17:45 AM