MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Blank Monitor
November 12, 2019, 10:23:33 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 12, 2019, 10:23:33 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Blank Monitor  (Read 2095 times)
pdx2mmh
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 14, 2004, 01:37:05 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:98se Pent II
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Running an older system 333 Pent II. Had my monitor go blank on me, the system is still running. So I was told probably video card. Bought new video card (PCI) installed it, and powered up the system. Only proplem, the screen is still blank. Do I need to disable old card, and download new one? Monitor works on another box so I know it's not that. I get one beep when system is powered up. What are my options? Please give this air head some advice..


Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2004, 03:04:31 AM »

All connections are tight and correct?
Do you have another Monitor to try on the PC?

Which Video Card did you buy?


Cactus
« Last Edit: December 14, 2004, 03:05:58 AM by Cactus » Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
pdx2mmh
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2004, 03:19:36 AM »

All connections are a-ok. I purchased a ge-force mx400. I will try hooking up my other monitor again. see what happens. Thanks
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2004, 03:24:57 AM »

The MX400 should work fine on a P-II..let us know about the other monitor.

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
pdx2mmh
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2004, 06:37:34 AM »

No go..There must be some way to disable the old card. maybe that isn't the problem. Someone please help me>>>>>>Thanks
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2004, 06:50:58 AM »

Before you install the MX400...goto DEVICE MANAGER and Remove the OLD card... shutdown the pc.
Install
the MX400 card and Reboot
Install the drivers

Also make sure you have the lastest DIRECT X runtime drivers...

Let us know...

Cactus
« Last Edit: December 14, 2004, 06:53:37 AM by Cactus » Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
pdx2mmh
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2004, 08:02:45 AM »

I would if I could. I have no way at looking at my monitor. I have no picture. Would the video card give me this problem. I am ready to pull my hair out.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2004, 06:27:08 PM »

No need to go bald yet. Wink

The old card, is it really a card, or is it onboard on the motherboard? The reason I ask it this way, is because you never said you uninstalled the old card. Only that you installed the new videocard.

If it is an add-on card, have you tried to take out the old videocard, then connect the monitor to the new videocard and start the system up again? Also if it is an old add-on card, was it an AGP card?

Chances are, that in the BIOS there's a setting that will check if there's a card in the AGP slot, before it moves to the PCI slot. If it finds a card in the AGP slot, it won't check further, as the primary card is the AGP card. So the primary card that will give output is always that card. By eliminating the AGP card, you force the computer to look for a PCI card, which then will become the primary display card.

If there is no add-on card, but it's a chip on the motherboard, you need to disable the onboard videochip. Being a Pentium 2, there's a good chance you can do this not through the BIOS, but through a jumper on the motherboard. In that case, check your motherboard manual.
Logged

Jord.
pdx2mmh
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2004, 06:44:51 PM »

Thank you so much for all the information. As a friend has told me, the card is not really a card. It is an internal video device on the motherboard. Does that device just come off, or do I need to use a jumper as you stated. Can I get the motherboard manual off the web? It's an old gateway and will that have the info and help that I need. Jee whiz, Thanks for all the help. Mike
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2004, 06:50:18 PM »

It wouldn't be a good think to pry the videochip off, no. Wink
That would most likely render your motherboard useless, something we don't want.

If you leave your info about the motherboard here, or about the whole Gateway system, I am sure that either I or Cactus can find an Acrobat Reader PDF file that has your motherboard manual in it.
Logged

Jord.
pdx2mmh
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: December 17, 2004, 02:12:57 AM »

Ok I lied about my system. It is not a gateway, that is my piece of joy, this PC that I am talking about belongs to my wife, and it is a Compac Presario. The mother board is a camaro. There is some numbers on a sticker(0014    31). I hope this helps.
Logged

 
avia27c
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2004, 08:01:58 AM »

FACT : after on LONG BEEP
One Beep - The memory refresh circuitry of the motherboard is faulty.

if you get power but no video or post, remove the cmos battery, and the memory and power up. If you get no beeps you've got a bad mainboard.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

In my experience no video from an AGP slot card has been caused by two things a bad capacitor in the AGP circut or a bad card.

could be that your bios is set to boot to PCI slot instead of AGP?

Do you even get A splash screen at startup?

Is the slot you put the card in Brown or White?
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 25, 2017, 09:04:50 AM