MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Never Been So Frustrated Over Games
November 20, 2019, 03:40:21 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 20, 2019, 03:40:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Never Been So Frustrated Over Games  (Read 1703 times)
Pehlsie
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 14, 2004, 04:02:44 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows 98
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages: Java Not Installed or Not Working Properly



I have a small problem, I think! Sad I had some problems with win 98 and had to go through and put it back on my computer and now I cant play oh yahoo games or on pogo. In yahoo the games wont load, I dont get an error message or anything and in pogo i get a Java Not Installed or Not Working Properly error.  I have checked everything I can think of but its still not working. If someone has any answers please let me know, I am desperate! Thanks
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2004, 04:18:18 PM »

Install Java Virtual Machine for Windows from http://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp

Logged

Jord.
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2004, 04:43:27 PM »

No need to PM me with answers on this. It's an open forum, you can leave all your problems in an answer window. Wink

So okay, you tried to install Java VM, as I understand from the PM. Have you tried the obvious after that, simple things like killing all your webbrowsers, a reboot of the system? Have you checked in Tools->Internet Options->Advanced if the correct Java VM is being used?

There is an optional install of Java Runtime Edition that you can download and install.
Logged

Jord.
Pehlsie
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2004, 04:52:40 PM »

Under Java VM I have Java Logging enabled, JIT compiler for virtual machine, and a Java (Sun) option checked off.  Now what do you mean by killing my webbrowsers? lol
Logged

 
Pehlsie
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2004, 04:58:53 PM »

OK i dowloaded the other one you gave me as well but realized i already had that one downloaded too...
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2004, 05:00:52 PM »

Exit the webbrowser that you have open after you installed Java or VM. That's what I meant. Therefore, a reboot wouldn't be bad either. That way you can be reasonably sure you've had all your browsers exited.

As for correct use of the Sun Java VM, please check the option under Java (Sun), then under Microsoft VM only check JIT compiler for Virtual Machine enabled.
Then close down the browser again and restart it. That installs the plugins for the browser. (IE in this case)
Logged

Jord.
Pehlsie
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2004, 05:08:14 PM »

OK I did it. I went to Yahoo! and tried but still nothing. I even rebooted my computer. Could it be something else that went wrong when I put win 98 on again?
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2004, 05:14:54 PM »

Just checking the games site over on Yahoo. Aren't they Flash games? For in that case, you want to go to Macromedia's site for Flash and Shockwave.
Logged

Jord.
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2004, 05:16:36 PM »

Also check out http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/games/games-09.html & http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/games
« Last Edit: December 14, 2004, 05:18:03 PM by Ageless » Logged

Jord.
Pehlsie
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2004, 05:17:31 PM »

Oh yeah, yahoo is. I just checked Pogo as well and nothing.  Thank you for all your help by the way.
Logged

 
Pehlsie
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2004, 05:19:42 PM »

i have went through all those yahoo help sites, they were absolutely no help.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2004, 05:31:17 PM »

Errrm, I'm a bit stumped. You can try once extra to flush your cache, either by this way or by deleting your temporary internet files by hand. In Windows 98, this folder is found in C:\Windows

Logged

Jord.
Pehlsie
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2004, 05:39:38 PM »

Yeah, I've been stumped for 2 weeks now trying everything.  I'm to the point where I want to just reformat this damn thing and start fresh.  Thanks for your time hon.
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: December 14, 2004, 06:02:19 PM »

Is it possible you're missing something in the way of a Windows update, or anything? Although that would become a problem, for as far as I know Windows Update won't work for Win98 anymore.
Logged

Jord.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 13, 2018, 01:01:16 AM