MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Game Problems arrow Topic: Computer freeze
June 27, 2019, 10:40:27 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 27, 2019, 10:40:27 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Computer freeze  (Read 2505 times)
Marco Vitaly
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 27, 2004, 02:19:30 AM »

I just bought the Worms3D, and I really enjoy it, besides the part when it causes my computer to halt.. I don't know what may cause this problem. All I know that when I start the game it shows me a window of resolution choice and Hz. what is hz and what do I do with it?? isn't that how you measure your CPU speed? when I play at 640x480x1Hz it halts rarely.

???why is this happening?



WINDOWS XP PROFFESIONAL
ATI RADEON 9600 128MB VIDEO CARD
PENTIUM IX 2.6GHz
1.0GHz DDR
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2004, 02:39:24 AM »

Hi Marco
Hz refers to Refresh Rate.
The refresh rate is represented by hertz (for example: 60 Hz). 60 Hz is considered low these days and 72 Hz is the minimum recommended to reduce flickering.
Look over this LINK
Hope it helps
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Marco Vitaly
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2004, 03:43:20 AM »

Thanks GeekGirl... Smiley

Now I know what is Hz. But I still experience problems while I'm playing Worms.

It's a great game and I hate it when it halts.
It happened in the HL2 but now I have the patch (It was a game bug)
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2004, 03:48:59 AM »

What version of Worms do you have?
There is patch for Worms 3D to v.1073 as stated HERE
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Marco Vitaly
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2004, 12:04:55 AM »

I tried doing this.. it's the same problem.
There comes a time when the computer decides that this is it, and it halts itself... just stuck, and nothing I do set it free (but reset button)
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2004, 03:31:07 PM »

Have you checked for heat? Meaning, did you check if all fans are spinning as they should, no dust bunnies clogging up the vents. A game freezing in the middle out of nowhere, without leaving an error behind in the Event Viewer can be written down to an overheating problem.

Problem with the P4s is that they cool down so darn quickly, so by the time you reboot and check in the BIOS what temperature you're at, it's cooled down by at least 10 degrees already.
Check with a 3rd party temperature checker like Motherboard Monitor what your maximum CPU temperature and inside the case temperature get to.
Logged

Jord.
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2004, 09:54:09 PM »

Try choosing OPTIMAL setting(Refresh Rate)...see if that makes a difference.

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Marco Vitaly
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2004, 02:31:33 AM »

To Jee: It's not a heating problem.
I play half-life 2, doom 3, gta, farcry and it doesn't freeze on anything. It's the worms3d that does the problem.

To Cactus: I don't know what is my optimal refresh rate!!
I have mag innovision 19" 796FD2
other details are at the top
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2004, 03:20:48 AM »

Have you ever checked your Event Viewer? Start->Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Event Viewer, check for both the Application and System logs if any yellow or red markers are about.
If there are, doubleclick on the events nearest to when you game crashed, then singleclick on the button with the two leaves of paper. Post the entry directly here in an answer window.


I assumed you use Windows 2000 or XP as your operating system. Am I right?
« Last Edit: December 29, 2004, 03:24:14 AM by Ageless » Logged

Jord.
Marco Vitaly
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2004, 04:13:56 AM »

you don't need to assume it's right there on the top... i'm using win xp pro sp2
and the nearest event to the game crash happend 4 hours before.
the system log is empty (i don't think that's very good)

anyway.. my game is still f***ed up.
Logged

 
Marco Vitaly
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2004, 12:24:37 AM »

Hey you all, Problem Solved!

800x600x56Hz is All I Needed.




Thank you Jee, Cactus, GeekGirl and those who visited but didn't reply... : )
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2004, 01:30:17 AM »

So glad to hear you got it sorted out..  Grin
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 28, 2018, 03:12:54 PM