MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: uninstall windows nt 4.0 work station
August 23, 2019, 02:39:44 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 23, 2019, 02:39:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: uninstall windows nt 4.0 work station  (Read 1047 times)
snickers904
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 27, 2004, 05:35:33 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:NT 4.0 NOT A SERVER
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:

I need step by step detailed instructions to remove win nt 4.0 from my computer. I have located it in partition1 on my computer. I want to install a different operating system. This computer was given to me.
Logged

Snickers
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2004, 03:39:08 PM »

Which Operating System do you want to install instead of NT4?
Logged

Jord.
snickers904
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2004, 04:06:54 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by Jee

Which Operating System do you want to install instead of NT4?

I have either win 98 or win 2000. Either one would be better than what i have now.  our dsl won't work with win nt 4.0. Which ever one would be the easiest would be fine with me.
Logged

Snickers
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2004, 04:16:45 PM »

If you want to use Windows 2000, just boot up with the Windows 2000 CD and let it install over NT4. You can even choose to remove the NT4 partition prior to making a new one and installing Win2k on it.

If you want to use Win98, you need to use fdisk to remove the NT4 partition from the harddrive, then make a new primary partition, reboot, format it and only then can you install Win98.

In a nutshell. Wink
Logged

Jord.
snickers904
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2004, 04:25:40 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by Jee

If you want to use Windows 2000, just boot up with the Windows 2000 CD and let it install over NT4. You can even choose to remove the NT4 partition prior to making a new one and installing Win2k on it.

If you want to use Win98, you need to use fdisk to remove the NT4 partition from the harddrive, then make a new primary partition, reboot, format it and only then can you install Win98.

In a nutshell. Wink
Logged

Snickers
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2004, 04:29:24 PM »

No need to quote me everytime around, I know what I wrote before this. Wink

Ahem, fdisk comes with Windows, it only works in an MS DOS environment, so do boot up with a Windows 98 bootfloppy and just use fdisk from the command prompt.
Logged

Jord.
snickers904
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2004, 04:32:12 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by Jee

If you want to use Windows 2000, just boot up with the Windows 2000 CD and let it install over NT4. You can even choose to remove the NT4 partition prior to making a new one and installing Win2k on it.

If you want to use Win98, you need to use fdisk to remove the NT4 partition from the harddrive, then make a new primary partition, reboot, format it and only then can you install Win98.

In a nutshell. Wink
:)Thank you so much everthing I had found searching the web sounded really complicated:)
Logged

Snickers
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2004, 04:46:33 PM »

Check a post I did way earlier like http://mytechsupport.ca/support/single_post.asp?method=reply&REPLY_ID=15846 for an example on how to do this.
Logged

Jord.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 19, 2018, 08:44:20 PM