MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Won't stay on!
December 07, 2019, 09:39:19 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 07, 2019, 09:39:19 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: Won't stay on!  (Read 2985 times)
ms_lildreamer
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 17, 2002, 01:39:11 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Win95
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



 I tried to replace a slow cd-rom with another. now my computer will come on for only a half-second, and then it goes off. Will a bad power source cause this?
  My computer is a very old Pentium with 32mb RAM. I wanted to try to put some more memory on it, but now I think it may not be worth it. It is a Tri-Gem made in '94 or '95.
  Help me. someone!
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2002, 02:39:55 AM »

Did you remove the old cdrom from the system, or is the old cdrom still in the system, and now you have 2 cdroms. The reason for asking, is that if you add a component to the pc, it is quite possible that the power supply cannot handle the load.
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
ms_lildreamer
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2002, 02:50:20 AM »

System already had 2 drives. one 8x, one 7x. I took out the 8x because it was not working. Would I be better off with only the 24x I was trying to install? Or am I expecting too much from this old clunker?
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2002, 03:00:17 AM »

Would you happen to know the manufactuer of the motherboard and the model?
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
ms_lildreamer
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2002, 03:05:45 AM »

Not sure about motherboard. Just know that it has Pentium processor
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2002, 03:11:39 AM »

Depending on exactly how old your system is, it is possible that it dosn't support ide cdroms. It was around 8X when cdroms started to be ide. Could you give use the manufactuer and model of the cdrom? As well, have you tried to put your old cdrom back to see if the system works ok?
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
ms_lildreamer
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2002, 03:22:12 AM »

Yes, I have tried to put old cd-rom back. Have also checked all connections about 5 times. I thought maybe the power supply was dead, but would the lights come on for even that one second if it was?
Logged

 
ms_lildreamer
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2002, 03:27:25 AM »

Old drive 8x is an Acer. 24x drive is Cyberdrive. Acer made in 1996
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2002, 04:27:21 AM »

Have you tried with just the new 24X cdrom? Might be worth a try. You might want to try with no cdroms at all connected to see if it boots.

As well I checked the specs on the 8X acer, seems to be an ide cdrom. I have seen this with my P166 system, and usually when this happens, the cable with the red stripe is not in pine 1. As well if you are connecting the cdrom on the last connector on the ide, make sure your jumper is set to master or even try cable select. Hope this helps.
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
ms_lildreamer
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2002, 04:32:01 AM »

Thanks, tincan. Will try this. No time tonite, but will try and get back to you after I do!:)
Logged

 
ms_lildreamer
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2002, 02:25:45 AM »

Hooked 24x drive up. Computer actually comes on now. Still not loading Windows, but this is a start! It beeps 2 times coming on. This is memory, right? I intend to put in more, eventually. Want Win98, but it wouldn't take on 32mb RAM. Now what? I value your opinions.

BTY, tincan, Thanks for the help. I at least have hope now!
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: December 20, 2002, 03:56:51 AM »

Glade to hear that you resolved the cdrom issue. On most systems, to short beeps means all is ok. You might want to double check your cables, video card, ram etc.... And make sure they are all well seated. Are you getting any picture on the screen? If so, are there any error messages?
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
ms_lildreamer
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2002, 04:12:17 PM »

Screen comes up, says wait, then 2 beeps, then I see "113: Primary HDC Failure Press F1 to resume" I press F1, it beeps twice again, says system not ready, insert bootdisk.I insert. Then it tells me my disk is invalid. Now what?
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2002, 03:20:22 AM »

It seems that your hard drive is not being detected by the bios. You might want to check the power connector to the hard drvie, make sure it is connected properly. As well double check your cable to the hard drive, make sure the red stripe of the cable is towards the power connector. If all this seems ok, then go into the bois, you should see an option somewhere that says autodetect. You could try and force the bios to detect the hard drive. Hope this helps.
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
Doctor Smith
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Dumb questions welcomed


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: December 24, 2002, 06:25:40 PM »

Congradulations: Simply just go and get a new computer. You won't regret it.
Logged




Pages: [1] 2  All Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page August 09, 2018, 10:38:18 PM