MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: piggy back hd
December 05, 2019, 05:49:48 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 05, 2019, 05:49:48 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: piggy back hd  (Read 1541 times)
frogman125
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 19, 2002, 04:24:19 PM »

I've got an 8gb hd that won't boot. I've never piggy backed a bad hd
before. I must get some old files off of it before I run the systems disk and reformat. Any help?


hd still starts,norton launches desktop appears then (EXPLORER.EXE ERROR)
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2002, 06:18:46 PM »

Hi,

Can you please clarify for me. You have a bootable hard drive w/ Windows and you added the 8gb drive as a second drive but it is not accessible, it this correct?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
frogman125
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2002, 07:54:20 PM »

I'm sorry I know enough about this to be dangerous.No this is my only
hd in this aptiva running w98. Countless software conflicts have caused this explorer.exe error. Now when it boots norton will launch and my desktop appears. Thats it i get this error. If there is a way
to force windows explorer to launch that would be all i need to retreive these files. Or back to my question if i just connect this hd
to another cpu's hd as a slave could i retreive my files that way.
                                                  Thanks
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2002, 11:22:55 PM »

What are you going to copy the files to? If you plan to copy the files to a floppy then you could just boot into a command prompt only. As well have you tried booting into safe mode?
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
frogman125
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2002, 04:25:36 PM »

I tried safe mode (same error). i can find my files in dos mode but  it won't let me copy to the A drive. Back to piggy back. If i install
this as a slave in a clean 98 os will it appear as another drive in my computer to wich i can pull the files from?



                                                 thanks for any help
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2002, 02:30:14 AM »

If you have another hard drive that has an os on it (win98, winXP). Then take your old hard drive and slave it, then yes it should see the second hard drive as a d: drive. Then you should be able to copy the files onto the c: drive. Hope this helps.
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page August 03, 2018, 04:01:54 PM