MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: BackUp Program
October 19, 2019, 09:19:41 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 19, 2019, 09:19:41 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: BackUp Program  (Read 1279 times)
Gladd8tor
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 31, 2005, 02:54:13 AM »

Hi ... I'm using xp pro and I notice when I try to backup my c drive with windows backup option onto my second hard drive it stop about 3/4 of the load , I get a error which says that I don't have a enough space on my drive , which can't be the case because the drive i am trying to download onto is 120gb, So now I need to know if anyone know of a good free backup program ?? Thanks to anyone who assist ...

« Last Edit: January 31, 2005, 01:12:47 PM by Ageless » Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2005, 01:14:36 PM »

1) How big is your C: drive?
2) Are you using a form of compression when backin up?
3) Are you sure you're not writing to a partition on the 120GB harddrive? (have you checked that you actually got that drive formatted as one partition?)
Logged

Jord.
Gladd8tor
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2005, 02:13:52 AM »

Hi Jee ... I have 2 hard drives both are 120gb seagate , This is how its set up , My windows is install on the c drive which has the whole 120 gb , Then my other 120 drive is divide into 2( D , P ) partition around 57gb each ... Ok I just done what I was trying to do ... But I'm curious if one was to have a external hard drive could the backup option work ?? Let say I have enough space on this external drive can it work ?? Thanks
« Last Edit: February 01, 2005, 03:49:29 AM by Gladd8tor » Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2005, 04:54:29 PM »

Windows Backup should be able to backup to an external harddrive that's connected via USB, if you use XP with SP2. MSKB article 1 and MSKB article 2 on that.
Logged

Jord.
Gladd8tor
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2005, 08:14:53 PM »

Hi ... For some reason I am not able to backup the c drive onto my 20gb external drive , I get a error saying not enough space which isn't the case , I also have data and other programs on this external drive , I have around 15gb of free space ... I'm curious to why I'm getting this error

PS : I have had SP2 since it was first available and I haven't had any problems with it either , Or maybe this might be one now ... Thanks
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2005, 08:25:44 PM »

You're trying to backup 120GB of data onto a 20GB (15GB) drive? Even with extreme compression that won't work. How much data is used on the C: drive? Try to backup only the Windows folder, if that's what you're trying to do.
Logged

Jord.
Gladd8tor
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2005, 11:57:14 PM »

Hi ... There is only 8gb used of data and stuff on my 120gb c drive , So shouldn't it still work ??
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page January 16, 2019, 06:25:10 AM