MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: dial up connection box
September 23, 2019, 12:04:54 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 23, 2019, 12:04:54 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: dial up connection box  (Read 958 times)
tedcat99
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 26


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 07, 2003, 06:46:03 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Hi Everybody,My problem is that everytime I start my PC the dial up connection box pops up on the screen whether or not I want to go on the Net.Is there any way of preventing this? It has only been doing this for the last three weeks or so.I Have not made any changes in this time or installed any programs and a check on the start-up menu does not have any entries that would try to dial up.
Hoping you can help with this prob.Thanks.
Logged

tedcat99
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2003, 05:48:48 PM »

Hi,

There may be an application loading during startup that requires to dial out. Check the Startup tab in MSCONFIG.

Start > Run
Type 'msconfig' (no quotes)

You may also have spyware installed that is "phoning home"
Download and install Ad-Adware http://www.lavasoftusa.com/
It is free and very good at cleaning spyware!
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
tedcat99
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 26


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2003, 08:09:51 PM »

Thank you to Admin the problem is now solved. I went to msconfig and unchecked Zone Alarm as it was the only one I suspected of dialling out. I then restarted my PC and sure enough the dial-up connection did not appear. I will now uninstall Zone Alarm and look around for another good firewall. Once again thanks a lot!! Ted.
Logged

tedcat99
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2003, 08:53:01 PM »

Hi,

Glad to help! Grin
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page August 09, 2018, 05:13:17 AM