MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Security & Viruses arrow Topic: Desktop hijacked, cant right click
November 22, 2019, 06:56:58 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 22, 2019, 06:56:58 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Desktop hijacked, cant right click  (Read 5771 times)
iamdog
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 27, 2005, 02:14:46 AM »

OS: win xp home edition
one day when i turned on my computer the background was a link to some spyware scanner. I also cant right click on anything on the desktop or windows explorer, but i can right click on things in internet explorer. i have used many different programs(ad aware se, spybot s&d, ccleaner, hijack this, spyware doctor, regestry mechanic a squared free, avg free, trend micro online housecall, panda scan or whatever its called, to name a few)

Someone please help
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2005, 03:34:05 PM »

Hi iamdog .. Smiley .. Download Hijackthis Ver. 1.99.1---Important---Create a permanent folder
EG---- Open MyDocuments----Right click an empty spot and select NEW---Folder----Name the new folder HJT ---this is where you will want to save Hijackthis too, also, backups will be stored there.
Download from here
http://aumha.org/downloads/hijackthis.exe

Do a SCAN----Scan will change to SAVE LOG----copy and paste the WHOLE contents of the log
here... Don't try and fix anything yet----most entries are harmless and needed.


Cactus  
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
iamdog
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2005, 09:45:47 PM »

there is "no suspicious items found" when i use hjt (even in a permenant folder), so it wont create a log file
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2005, 10:10:20 PM »

Your kidding me .. Lips Sealed

This is what I want you to do.

Download CWShredder from my signature below. Unzip it on the desktop.
Open CWShredder and with ALL other windows closed, click fix.


Go here and run online scans (all), allow them to delete whatever they find:

TrendMicro HouseCall
eTrust AntiVirus Web Scanner
Panda ActiveScan
Note any thing that can't be fixed
Reboot when done.

Next:

Even if you've already run these, make SURE they're up-to-date and run per instructions.

Make sure you have the up-to-date versions of Spybot V 1.3 and Ad-aware SE Build 1.05 .Get the plug-in for fixing VX2 variants. You can download it from HERE
To run this tool, install to the hard drive, then open Ad-aware->Add-ons and select VX2 Cleaner. Then click Run Tool and OK to start it. If it's clean, it will say Status System Clean. Otherwise, you will have to click on the Clean button to remove the VX2 infection. All are free and available below.

Download Spybot, install and update. Then download Ad-aware, install, and update.


Spybot:

Install the program and launch it.

Go to Start > Programs >Spybot > Search & Destroy and choose Spybot S&D

Close ALL windows except Spybot S&D
Click the button to "Search for Updates" and download and install the Updates.
Next click the button "Check for Problems"
When Spybot is complete, it will be showing "RED" (RED) entries "BLACK" entries and "GREEN" (GREEN) entries in the window
Put a check mark beside the RED (RED) entries ONLY.
Choose "Fix Selected Problems" and allow Spybot to fix the RED (RED) entries.

Ad-Aware FULL SCAN:

Install the program and launch it.

First in the main window look in the bottom right corner and click on Check for updates now then click Connect and download the latest reference files.

From main window :Click Start then under Select a scan Mode check Perform full system scan.
Next deselect Search for negligible risk entries.
Now to scan just click the Next button.

When the scan is finished mark everything for removal and get rid of it.(Right-click the window and choose select all from the drop down menu and click Next)

Empty Recycle Bin

Reboot

Now try running HJT again and "copy/paste" a new log file into this thread.

Cactus  
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
jettech
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2005, 05:44:12 AM »

I have the same problem see posted Hijack log there

http://www.mytechsupport.ca/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=42&topic=8486

:-\help!!
Logged

 
iamdog
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2005, 12:26:05 AM »

ive run all these programs and i was able to change my wall paper, but still cant right click on desktop and win explorer. I still cant get a log for hjt.

ALSO: i should have mentioned this earlier but objects on by desktop appear twice for no reason
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2005, 12:59:32 AM »

Try this...

Click Start|Run. Type 'Regedit' and press ENTER. The registry editor opens.

Before you edit the registry, you should make a backup.
On the 'Registry' menu, click 'Export Registry File'. In the 'Export range' panel, click 'All', then save your registry as Backup.

Navigate to these keys...

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer

In the right-pane, double-click NoViewContextMenu and set it to 0 if exists.

Similarly check here:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer


Post back and let me know the results.


Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
iamdog
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2005, 02:30:23 AM »

after doing the thing w/ the registry, iam now able to right click. however, icons on the desktop are still being duplicated. ithinks it is related to the hijacking because it started happening on the same day. Any ideas? Thanks w/ ur help so far.
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2005, 02:53:22 AM »

Try and DELETE the desktop.ini file...in Normal Mode then SAFE MODE if you can't.

Then reboot let Windows create it again...

Post back

Cactus  
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
iamdog
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2005, 03:09:10 AM »

i tried the dektop.ini thing and it did not work
Logged

 
gylbert
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2005, 10:13:35 AM »

I have the same problem, so I've been following this thread. I've performed all of the instructions to this point, and would like to add a few notes here:


The malware installed a wallpaper purporting to be the results of a system scan, and included a weblink to a SpyWare remover being offered for the "bargain" price of $59.95 (thanks so much for your offer, think I'll pass, keep my credit card number to myself . . .). Very wide bright red border, black text box, yellow and white text - similar, if not identical, to what iamdog reported on his screen

I found the Firefox download files responsible and deleted them several days ago, but neglected to note the file path or type . . . you can stick me with a few needles for that oversight, Cactus. But even with those files gone, within Control Panel >> Appearance and Themes >> Display >> Desktop Tab, the "Background" menu is locked and greyed out - can't scroll through nor select any of the images listed. The best I can do to change the background is to click "Color" and pick the paint shade I like best


Once I edited the two Policy regkeys, I regained the right-click menu on the desktop and in windows explorer. The hijacker removed all of my desktop icons, except Recycle Bin and My Computer, so I re-created the other icons by Sending to Desktop. Once I finished, I found that every new icon had replicated itself once, and there had been an evident delay of a few seconds, as the duplicates weren't located right next to each other - there would be 1-3 other icons in between, depending on how quickly I had created the shortcuts

So, I started deleting the dupes, and noticed that it didn't matter which of the two icons I selected in any given pair: the first icon would always disappear upon delete. After deleting that first icon of the pair, the second would not work

Then I clicked on an icon whose companion hadn't been deleted (which happened to be My Pictures), and it worked, so I just closed the window again. All of the dummy icons whose mate I had deleted promptly disappeared, but all of the intact pairs remained

I hope this information is of some use in getting this solved. Anything else you want to know, Cactus, I'll be monitoring this thread. I miss my mountain pass and that mess of icons I rarely use Smiley

Logged

Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati - when all else fails, play dead
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2005, 04:35:34 PM »

Right on gylbert .. thanks for the info .. Wink

Hopefully iamdog reads your Post and let's us know if it works for him .. Smiley

Cactus  
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
iamdog
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2005, 06:39:11 PM »

unfortuneatly, gylbert's advice didn't work for me.
Any other ideas?
Logged

 
renoloo
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2005, 11:11:25 PM »

Just to let you know I have the same problem with a costumers computer.. I do virus and spyware removal for an ISP in New Mexico and this is a first. Alot more registery problems...working on it now will let all know when I have a TOTAL fix...
Logged

 
martg_420
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2005, 05:20:01 AM »

try to restore computer to a previous date (before it showed the first time) using "System restoration"

it worked really well for me
Thats the only time this windows tool helped me in my windows user life
Grin but, what a chance i forgot to desactivate on last installation Grin

hope u did'nt desactivate it Wink

Logged

Mart
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page March 08, 2017, 09:12:05 PM