MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: System won't boot after connecting old monitor
October 23, 2019, 10:11:22 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 23, 2019, 10:11:22 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: System won't boot after connecting old monitor  (Read 939 times)
jamessmb
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 26, 2003, 07:01:51 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Win 98
Problem Application Name & Version: None
Problem Hardware Make & Model: Gateway Pentium 333
Error Messages: None


Hi,

Interesting problem and I didn't see any similar in the forums. I have an old Tatsung Monitor that was attached to an eMachines 336. After 6-8 months, the machine wouldn't boot. I thought it was the on-board video card, so connected a PCI video card. This didn't work. Thinking the system was bad, I connected the monitor to my Gateway 333. The Gateway display properties were set to its Gateway monitor and since this monitor is older, it was all flaky. I booted into Safe Mode and reset the display properties. The machine booted fine, but when I went to set the display to other than 640x480 16 colors, the system crashed.

Now when I connect the Gateway monitor to this system, it won't boot. Hard drives spin, CD-ROM light flashes, but no POST codes... nothing.

Is it possible for a monitor to toast a system? Is there a way to diagnose the problem and get it back?

Thanks,

James
Logged

 
Doctor Smith
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Dumb questions welcomed


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2003, 10:10:19 AM »

Sounds as if you have a corrupt BIOS. It would be good to flush the BIOS and start again.

The motherboard should have a jumper next to the BIOS specifically for this purpose.

Refer to your manuals for this jumper and if you do or don't find get back to me, as I will have a further think about it.

Berty
Logged




jamessmb
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2003, 05:08:24 PM »

Berty,

Thanks! That did it. System boots fine now and I've gone through the process of upgrading the BIOS from Gateway.

I never thought that a monitor could screw up a machine.

James
Logged

 
Doctor Smith
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Dumb questions welcomed


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2003, 05:17:33 PM »

I'm just glad that I got a guess right for once....Thank you for asking
Logged




Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 11, 2018, 02:53:58 AM