MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Game Problems arrow Topic: Is there something wrong with my pc?
May 24, 2019, 03:30:49 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 24, 2019, 03:30:49 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Is there something wrong with my pc?  (Read 1119 times)
Ball0on
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 36


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 27, 2005, 10:44:19 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Hey dudes, I was wondering, since I get like 20 fps in cs_compound I asked a m8 how much fps he got at the same point well, it was double what I was getting. Here are our specs:
Me                           him
Win XP SP2                   same
athlon 64 3200+ (stock)      ayhlon 64 3500+ stock (speeds)
radeon x800pro 475/450       x850XTPE 540/550
512 ddr twinmos 2.5-3-3-8     2gb g.skill extreme pc4800
catalyst 5.4                 catalyst 5.4
asus a8v deluxe(hyperion)    DFI 4 lanparty    
My in-game settings are no AA, 2x af the rest recommanded detail settings. He runs all on high with no fsaa and af @ 16x12 too.
Now im wondering if the 512 more mb (dogames dont go over 1gb I heard) the 300+ more and some higher clockspeeds and 4 more pixelpipelines result in a 50+ fps gain?
If I didnt give enough info let me know, Ill be happy to supply more.
Thanks in advance,

Ball0on

Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2005, 10:58:04 PM »

Sorry for the delay, but I wasn't really around these forums for a long time.

Anyway, his videocard is way better than yours, while he also has 1.5GB more RAM to throw around.
But definitely his videocard. 4 pixelpipelines and a higher clock/ram speed on his videocard make a lot of difference!

Of course it also matters at what resolution you both run it, plus what may be running in the background of Windows. If you are running some other programs, then they take up quite a bit of memory. His 2GB can easily swallow that.
Logged

Jord.
Ball0on
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 36


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2005, 02:59:24 PM »

That might be it, anyway I learned to live with it even though it doesnt run that much better then my old system, especially considering the prices, o well Smiley
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page December 30, 2018, 10:51:31 PM