MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Computer Related Discussions arrow General Discussions arrow Topic: Boot up problem...Please Help!!!
July 19, 2019, 02:34:48 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 19, 2019, 02:34:48 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: Boot up problem...Please Help!!!  (Read 3977 times)
mceravolo
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 28, 2005, 01:51:11 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: XP Pro
Problem Application Name & Version: Boot
Problem Hardware Make & Model: PC
Error Messages: None




I am trying to diagnose a friend's pc boot up problem.  On boot up, the self test runs and shows all the info, then a blinking cursor appears and the screen freezes.  So, on the screen is the cpu info and a blinking cursor.  I have no clue what to do.  Please help!!!  

Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2005, 01:45:07 PM »

Are you hearing the POST beep?
Check the memory to make sure it is seated properly. You may want to take it out and re-seat it
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
mceravolo
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2005, 03:15:07 PM »

I hear the normal one beep.  I took the moemory out and reset it.  no help.  On the pre-boot screen, it checks the drives and then hangs up.  Blinking cursor.  The weird thing is some letters on the screen disappear.  e.g. It shows the devices in the pc, then hangs up and some letters disappear such as cache turns into c she and then it hangs up.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2005, 03:30:17 PM »

During the POST, the BIOS checks for the presense & function of each component it has been programmed to manage.
It first checks the CPU then RAM then system-critical devices such as floppy, h.d.d., keyboard and monitor. It then tests noncritical components such as  CD-ROM and sound card.

So if your stopping right after the RAM there is an issue with either the floppy, h.d.d., keyboard or monitor.
What I would do would be to disconnect everything from the board, leaving only the psu,cpu and ram in tact. Start adding each component one by one to see if you can pin point your problem.

I hope this helps
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
mceravolo
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2005, 04:04:08 PM »

Without anthing connected, it gave a boot disk error.  When I connected the hard drive, it hung up like it was originally.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2005, 04:08:18 PM »

Well I would think it is the hadr drive causing you problems. Is it a new drive or used?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
mceravolo
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2005, 04:16:22 PM »

It is a western digital.  I really don't remember.  I sold him my old computer, but I don't remember if I kept my old drive and replaced his or gave him my old one.  But wouldn't there be some signs of it going bad like noises.  And wouldn't it give a hard drive failure error or something???
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2005, 04:19:55 PM »

Sometimes not, you could try it in another computer. Throw it in and try to boot. Give it enough time but dont let it boot completely to the O.S., sometimes motherboard drivers get confused when you dont have them installed on the current h.d.d
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
mceravolo
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2005, 04:26:23 PM »

could it be bios related or OS releated?
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2005, 04:28:13 PM »

You could try to reset the BOIS, I really feel it is a hardware issue though
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
mceravolo
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2005, 04:32:13 PM »

could it be just a hard drive crash??? or do you think hardware failure??
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2005, 04:36:04 PM »

I would say failure Sad but you need to find out and make sure it has failed.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
mceravolo
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2005, 04:38:38 PM »

if i try to reinstall windows, that should answer my question right?Huh?
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2005, 06:05:21 PM »

This has been resolved.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
dsho
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2005, 01:29:30 PM »

Hey Ya!

Having the same problem. PC boots up and then blank screen with blinking cursor.

PIII PC with 512MB RAM and 2 HDD. Working fine this afternoon and cannot boot up now.

Use a floppy to boot but cannot reference Master HDD. Doing a scandisk now.

GeekGirl mentioned that the problem was solved. How was it resolved?

TIA

dsho
Logged

 
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 20, 2017, 02:59:17 AM