MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Computer Freezes
June 27, 2019, 03:09:35 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 27, 2019, 03:09:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Computer Freezes  (Read 867 times)
clmoo
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 28, 2005, 08:06:07 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows 98 SE
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Intel Pentium II 800 MMX 512 RAM
Error Messages:



My computer keeps freezing lately.  Initially I thought it was caused by virus or spyware.  After running through all steps including HJT, I could not solve the problem.  Then I decided to change the hard disk.  Each time after freezing and I restart it in dos mode, a scandisk will reveal that the free disk space has been incorrectly reported and a fix is duly performed.

However, when I am back to normal mode, the computer will freeze when I am running spybot, sometimes during the process of copying file from another network computer.

I checked the RAM and they don't seemed to have any problem.  I tried to  replace 3 different hard disks but the same problem persists.  I did  cleaned up the CPU fan and the power supply fan but all efforts turned out to be furtile exercises.  What else could be the problem?

Please help.  Thanks.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2005, 07:04:33 PM »

Use this to check the memory
Memtest86
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
clmoo
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2005, 10:53:41 AM »

Hi Geekgirl,

I tried using memtest86 but the test came to a halt at 78%.  Anyway, I will try again and let u know the result.  Thanks for your reply.

clmoo
Logged

 
passey
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 59


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2005, 09:13:25 AM »

wat motherboard do u have and what graphics card
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 25, 2017, 11:33:35 AM