MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Application Problems arrow Topic: I can't re-install Windows XP
November 14, 2019, 08:24:12 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 14, 2019, 08:24:12 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: I can't re-install Windows XP  (Read 2056 times)
9590
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 07, 2005, 01:22:10 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages: unregmp2.exe - Entry Point Not Found

The procedure entry point GetIUMS could not be loacted in the dynamic link library MSDART.DLL.

I was re-installing Windows XP because a booting sector of my computer was somehow deleted (believe it was a virus) and i tried re-installing and i keep getting this error. I can't access my HTJ because i can't even start my computer anymore because of this. PLEASE HELP ME!!!




Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2005, 01:34:28 AM »

Try to reformat your harddrive first. That ought to be an option from the Recovery Console.
Else write a new MBR and bootsector to your harddrive first, before trying to reinstall Windows.
That's also done from the Recovery Console (Boot with the Windows XP CD, press R at the first chance given).

Commands:
Fixmbr {hit Enter}
fixboot {hit Enter}
How to format from the RC.
Logged

Jord.
9590
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2005, 01:37:45 AM »

by the way my computer is a laptop, IBM T41 ThinkPad, Pentium 4 Intel processor .
Logged

 
9590
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2005, 01:41:47 AM »

ooo sounds good.. but ok... thing is... if i reformat.. i love all my school programs and everything... the trackpoint drivers. I'm a little confused... cuz won't everything from my laptop be gonea fter reformatting?
Logged

 
9590
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2005, 01:42:59 AM »

sorry *lose
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2005, 01:48:56 AM »

Sure it will, yet you didn't say that at first. Wink
All is well if you just rebuild the bootsector first (fixboot), then try to reinstall Windows.
If that doesn't work, try the fixmbr option first, so your Master Boot record has been rebuild to XP standards. Then try to reinstall Windows.

Both of the fixes won't touch any of the other data on the harddrive.
Logged

Jord.
9590
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2005, 01:52:01 AM »

oooo sounds good i will try it.. i will let u noe if i have ane more problems thanks alot
Logged

 
9590
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2005, 02:05:19 AM »

hmm problem.. when i press r it and comes up to Which Windows installation would you like to log onto <To cancel, press ENTER> then i try typing fixboot but only accepts the F because it then says Invalid selection. Please select a valid installation number 1: C:\Windows.. PLEASE HELP!
Logged

 
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2005, 02:51:43 PM »

You're on the right track. Look here for further steps.
Logged

Jord.
9590
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2005, 01:46:10 AM »

Oh nice..thnx alot
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 15, 2018, 01:01:52 AM