MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Spotaneous reboot
September 22, 2019, 07:47:55 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 22, 2019, 07:47:55 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Spotaneous reboot  (Read 715 times)
jtoloh
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 10, 2003, 04:44:10 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows XP Home
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:PIII 500 mhz,(PC), 256 ram
Error Messages:



My system has spontaneously rebooted 4 times this morning.  Each time I was doing something different so I don't think it is application related.  I have a relatively new 300 w power supply with a dual speed fan so I think the temp. is ok. In what may be a realted issue, my hard drive will often appear to be running when I am not even using the computer ( and sometimes when I am).  During this, if I try to do anything, all actions are delayed, as if all the ram is being used.  Also, when it does run like this, it is a rhythmic type of run. (power up, power down, power up, power down, etc. every second or so. ) It will do this for 10-15 minutes and then it is back to normal.  I've used task manager to see what is happening and it shows the cpu usage going up and down.  Does any of this make sense?
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2003, 04:39:42 PM »

Hi,

Sorry I missed this thread!

If you sort the task manager's processes by CPU, which one is causing the cpu usage during these spikes?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 02, 2019, 04:14:14 PM