MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: press F1 to continue
November 14, 2019, 07:54:48 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 14, 2019, 07:54:48 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: press F1 to continue  (Read 2793 times)
roberto
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 58


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: June 25, 2005, 03:32:16 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:  
Problem Application Name & Version:    windows 98
Problem Hardware Make & Model:   celeron 266
Error Messages:  press f1 to continue or del to--- something.



Hi Guys, im trying to get over a prob. with this old hardly used computer. It was locking up in internet explorer, and was missing a MSVBVM60 dll. i downloaded and installed this which made it a lot better ( could acess some web pages) but i keep getting a message asking if i want to continue running scripts on this page.
I think it is obviously missing something.
The other issue, is when i start up, the initial black screen with all that kooky info says press F1 to continue, and the desktop wont load until i do.
Do you have any ideas on how to rectify these problems?  
                         THANKS A LOT
Logged

 
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2005, 08:59:43 AM »

Roberto
Your second problem:-
This is almosct certainly caused by a dead CMOS battery - either replace it yourself (it's a $2 battery, and the job takes about 5 minutes), or get a techie to do it for you.
WRT your IE problem - i would suspect spyware.....
You may already have a virus/spyware hijack

download the Stinger from here and run it to make sure that A-V-disabling
viruses are not present on your PC
http://vil.mcafeesecurity.com/vil/averttools.asp

- update your virus scanner and run a full system scan of all files.

Reboot to Safe Mode and run CWShredder - to remove variants of the CoolWebSearch hijacker.
http://www.merijn.org/cwschronicles.html

Use CWShredder, the removal tool:
http://www.intermute.com/products/cwshredder.html
(download it without the accompanying rubbish)

download AdAware SE Personal Edition from www.lavasoftusa.com, install, update, and run it to remove spyware, adware, and other such nasties from your system.
Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
roberto
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 58


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2005, 09:56:44 AM »

Thanks for the advice Noel. I dont have acess to the computer at the moment, but i saved a H J T log, so i will post it just in case there is something you see regarding spyware etc.

                      THANKS

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 1:09:53 AM, on 1/01/98
Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v4.72 SP1 (4.72.3110.0000)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\RTVSCN95.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\DEFWATCH.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\EXECUTIVE SOFTWARE\DISKEEPER\DKSERVICE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\VPTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WEBROOT\SPY SWEEPER\SPYSWEEPER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WEBROOT\WASHER\WWDISP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\OSA.EXE
C:\OPLIMIT\OCRAWARE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\FINDFAST.EXE
C:\OPLIMIT\OCRAWR32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WORDWEB\WWEB32.EXE
C:\MY DOCUMENTS\HIJACK THIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\vptray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [rtvscn95] C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\rtvscn95.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [defwatch] C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\defwatch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [DkService] C:\Program Files\Executive Software\Diskeeper\DkService.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SpySweeper] "C:\Program Files\Webroot\Spy Sweeper\SPYSWEEPER.EXE" /0
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Window Washer] C:\Program Files\Webroot\Washer\wwDisp.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\RunServices: [SpySweeper] "C:\Program Files\Webroot\Spy Sweeper\SPYSWEEPER.EXE" /0
O4 - HKCU\..\RunServices: [Window Washer] C:\Program Files\Webroot\Washer\wwDisp.exe
O4 - Startup: Office Startup.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA.EXE
O4 - Startup: OCRAWARE.lnk = C:\OPLIMIT\OCRAWARE.EXE
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Find Fast.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\FINDFAST.EXE
O4 - Startup: WordWeb.lnk = C:\Program Files\WordWeb\wweb32.exe
O11 - Options group: [TB] Toolbar
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: Win32 Classes - file://C:\WINDOWS\Java\classes\win32ie4.cab

« Last Edit: June 25, 2005, 09:58:05 AM by roberto » Logged

 
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2005, 12:35:19 PM »

Well - your biggest problem is that you're running Norton!<g>
Which version? - and what date are the definitions??

Your second biggest problem is that you have seemingly never updated your PC! - you're still running IE4.72!!

You also need to correct the system date every time you boot the PC before actually entering Windows - that way you stand a chance of things working properly (especially Windows Update!!), until you get the battery problem fixed.

I can't see anything particularly wrong with the HJT lok - but try running it again, while in Safe Mode, and with viewing of Hidden and System Files enabled.
Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2005, 02:33:01 PM »

Hey guys .. Smiley .. running HJT in SAFE MODE will tell us alot LESS than what the logfile is showing us now.
HJT SHOULD be run in NORMAL MODE .. with ALL system processes running.

You should do as Noel suggests and UPDATE!

For let's FIX what IS in your logfile .. Wink

Set Windows to show Hidden files and folders
* Click Start.
* Open My Computer.
* Select the Tools menu and click Folder Options.
* Select the View Tab.
* Under the Hidden files and folders heading select Show hidden files and folders.
* Uncheck the Hide protected operating system files (recommended) option.
* Click Yes to confirm.
* Click OK.



**(Always create a Folder for HiJackThis anywhere but your Temp/Temporary Internet Folders. This is where it will save the backup files needed if there's a problem.)**


Press Ctrl/Alt/Del and "End Task" or "End Process" on each of the following: (They may or may not be there)


SPYSWEEPER.EXE <<< STOP - DO NOT DELETE



Close all other open Windows and have HiJackThis Fix:



O11 - Options group: [TB] Toolbar

O16 - DPF: Win32 Classes - file://C:\WINDOWS\Java\classes\win32ie4.cab



Now delete these Folders or Files that are Highlighted: (You may need enable "Show all Files" and disable "Hide System Files" in Windows Explorer / Tools / Folder Options / View Tab)  

C:\WINDOWS\Java\classes\win32ie4.cab

Now, empty all your TEMP Folders / Temporary Internet Files Folder and then empty your "Recycle Bin" and Reboot.



Before opening your browser goto START>CONTROL PANEL>INTERNET OPTIONS and make sure your Homepage is correct,if not ,type the URL you would like in the HomePage box.

Download CCLEANER
http://www.ccleaner.com/

Under Windows tab check Internet Explorer, Windows Explorer, and System.
Then click Run Cleaner.

Now re-run HJT and post a new logfile back here.


Cactus  
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2005, 12:24:40 AM »

I posted back to this earlier - but it seemws to have gotten eaten...

Running HJT in Safe Mode will NOT show less detail (except for running processes), and can in fact show up more, as priocesses and startup vectors may be hidden in normal mode.

AFAIK, there's nothing wrong with the win32ie4.cab file and link - look here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q183411
Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2005, 12:32:59 AM »

Sorry Noel but I disagree .. Wink



Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2005, 12:52:23 AM »

That's your right, of course

Smiley
Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
roberto
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 58


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2005, 07:10:10 AM »

Hey guys, the battery fixed the F1 thing and i have installed v6 of internet explorer and run ccleaner as instructed.Here is the HJT log run in normal mode. I,m not sure how to in safe mode, anyway the computer seems to be running much better now.I also did a repair on diskeeper, if that is of any consequence.
                         THANKS.
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 12:59:47 AM, on 1/01/98
Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
 
Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\RTVSCN95.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\DEFWATCH.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\VPTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WEBROOT\SPY SWEEPER\SPYSWEEPER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WEBROOT\WASHER\WWDISP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\OSA.EXE
C:\OPLIMIT\OCRAWARE.EXE
C:\OPLIMIT\OCRAWR32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\FINDFAST.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WORDWEB\WWEB32.EXE
C:\MY DOCUMENTS\HIJACK THIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE
 
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\vptray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [rtvscn95] C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\rtvscn95.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [defwatch] C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\defwatch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [DkService] C:\Program Files\Executive Software\Diskeeper\DkService.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SpySweeper] "C:\Program Files\Webroot\Spy Sweeper\SPYSWEEPER.EXE" /0
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Window Washer] C:\Program Files\Webroot\Washer\wwDisp.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\RunServices: [SpySweeper] "C:\Program Files\Webroot\Spy Sweeper\SPYSWEEPER.EXE" /0
O4 - HKCU\..\RunServices: [Window Washer] C:\Program Files\Webroot\Washer\wwDisp.exe
O4 - Startup: Office Startup.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA.EXE
O4 - Startup: OCRAWARE.lnk = C:\OPLIMIT\OCRAWARE.EXE
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Find Fast.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\FINDFAST.EXE
O4 - Startup: WordWeb.lnk = C:\Program Files\WordWeb\wweb32.exe
O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
 
Logged

 
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2005, 04:49:25 PM »

That looks fine to me - the only comment I have is that you have FindFast running, which is totally unnecessary in most systems (unless you're running a fileserver for Office documents) - you may want to consider disabling that from MSCONFIG, for the moment.
Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2005, 10:44:10 PM »

Hey Roberto .. Smiley

Re-run HJT and have it FIX these lines:

O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm

Now, empty all your TEMP Folders / Temporary Internet Files Folder and then empty your "Recycle Bin" and Reboot.


Cactus


Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2005, 04:28:33 AM »

Don't like Alexa, Cactus?
Smiley
Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2005, 04:56:35 AM »

Nope .. Grin


Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2005, 06:02:30 AM »

Can't say I'm keen on it, either - but AFAIK, it's not malicious, and what info does go back to the servers is relatively 'safe'. I tend to work on the basis that unless the system is infested with other things (and this one doesn't seem to have been), then Alexa is unlikely to be a problem, and a lot of users actually do want it on their boxes - so I leave it, or flag it to them for decision, rather than removing out-of-hand. OTOH, if the system has been infested heavily, then the chances are that the Alexa returns are screwed anyhow, and removing it will clean that up - the client can then re-activate it if required.
Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2005, 01:18:03 PM »

Just to be clear, this feature is 'spyware', if you use it. If you do so, you will be sending information to MSN and Alexa obtained by spying, because there is nowhere that Microsoft adequately discloses and documents that privacy 'leak'. Sure, Alexa have some information on it, and a pretty clear privacy policy, but you don't get to know of Alexa's involvement until after you use the feature, and even then you have to hunt for it, and even then no mention is made of MSN's interstitial involvement. Don't blame Alexa though - it's Microsoft's responsibility to provide their users with complete and truthful disclosure - and they haven't.

But if you don't use it, it won't be spying on you behind your back, and you may sleep soundly.




Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 17, 2018, 05:13:11 PM