MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: FLOPPY DISK problems
October 18, 2019, 07:34:47 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 18, 2019, 07:34:47 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: FLOPPY DISK problems  (Read 1262 times)
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: June 25, 2005, 02:02:27 PM »

CICERO AMD ATHLON 64 3200+ 1GIG MEM 16O GIG HD
WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION (NEW)

The last three floppy disks I tried to use I kept getting "disk not formatted " reports and I know there is data on them,,if I right click on floppy icon in my computer,,it says install a floppy disk.

Checking device manager showed "device working" also tried updating drivers for the two required.

Any ideas?

Logged

 
w00dy
Full Member
***

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 82


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2005, 11:08:50 PM »

I solved this problem once by cleaning the head(s) in the floppy drive.
If you haven't done this before, get advice first.
Logged

 
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2005, 11:24:26 PM »

Thanks for the tip,,I will have to seek advice on how to.
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2005, 11:39:05 PM »

Can you put a BLANK non-formatted floppy in the Drive...then goto Windows Explorer..
Click the PLUS+ sign beside MYCOMPUTER
Then right-click 3 1/2"Floppy Drive and choose FORMAT

What happens??


Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2005, 02:36:24 PM »

it says "There is no disk in drive A
         Insert a disk and then try again"
Logged

 
w00dy
Full Member
***

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 82


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2005, 11:33:51 PM »

Sounds like you still have the problem, did you have the floppy drive cleaned ?
Of course you could try a new drive, they're cheap enough.
I was getting several different error messages, often different ones for the same disk, at different times
Logged

 
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2005, 12:44:44 AM »

Ya I figured its a bad floppy unit,,its still under factory warranty but as I dont use a floppy that much I dont wanna lay my system up for 3 or 4 days or more at place of purchase while they do the necessary things,in 5 more months the manufacterers warranty expires and the future shop extended warranty takes over at which time it will be replaced with a unit right off the shelf.
Thanks for all help
Logged

 
w00dy
Full Member
***

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 82


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2005, 08:45:24 PM »

Anytime
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 18, 2018, 02:14:50 PM