MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: Windows ME issue
September 19, 2019, 08:54:50 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 19, 2019, 08:54:50 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Windows ME issue  (Read 1527 times)
jeffcox
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 97


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: June 29, 2005, 02:02:09 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows ME
Problem Application Name & Version:Internet Explorer
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Dell Inspiron
Error Messages:



I have an Internet Explorer problem.  I can not permanently set up an Internet Explorer Internet Connection setting to automatically dial with my default Internet dialer.  I use TOOLS|INTERNET OPTIONS|CONNECTIONS and set the radio button to "Dial whenever a network connection is not present" and it only works one time.  The next time I bring up my browser, it has reset itself.  

I used to have a cable connection and I think that the system must "remember" that connection.  Does that sound reasonable?  I also installed AVAST, SPYBOT, ADAWARE and SPYWARE BLASTER when I had the cable connection.  Do you think that it is possible that AVAST is changing the connection setting trying to do an autoupdate?  

This is not a serious issue but it is a nuisance for a couple of folks in the family who are used to Internet Explorer doing this for them.  Does anyone have any ideas about how to correct this?

Thanks,
Jeff
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2005, 12:47:34 AM »

Hello welcome back Grin

Spyware Blaster is rogueware, I suggest you uninstall it
http://www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm#swk_note

Take the tick out of Dial whenever a network connection is not present and place one in Always Dial My default connection
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
jeffcox
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 97


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2005, 02:44:21 AM »

Sorry, I misinformed you about Spyware Blaster.  I use JavaCool's SpywareBlaster which your reference site endorses.

I'd already tried both those options and got the same result.  Today, I found a note on AVAST's site about this too.  There is a setting in the AVAST setup that causes this problem and it has to be reset to tell AVAST that it must wait for a dialup connection.  AVAST is expecting a cable connection and is setting the option in Internet Explorer to "Never dial a connection".  Thanks for getting back to me on this though.  

Jeff
Logged

 
Taz202
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2008, 10:39:13 AM »

Try changing operating systems. I had ME for awhile, YUK!!!!!!!
Worst OS ever
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2008, 10:15:17 PM »

This thread is 3 yrs old, no need to bring it back up
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 12, 2018, 11:31:08 PM