MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: shutdown restart
April 07, 2020, 02:51:08 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 07, 2020, 02:51:08 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: shutdown restart  (Read 1003 times)
passey
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 59


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 14, 2005, 12:45:38 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: xp pro
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:




when ever i tell my pc to shut down it just restarts instead any ideas.
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2005, 11:20:20 PM »

Ok passey .. Smiley

Go into the Bios power settings and make sure the "Wake on Modem Ring" and "Wake on PCI PME" options are set to "Stay Off". This might work especially if you have a firewire or network card installed. Or here's another idea for you. If there is a problem with a piece of hardware or the hardwares' drivers, when you shut down, it creates a system error. And if you have "Automatically Restart on System Failure" enabled in the "System Failure" section of the "Startup and Recovery" section under "Settings" on the "Advanced Tab" of the "System Properties", then the computer will see the shut down as a system failure and reboot to protect itself. Go in there and disable that and if you are lucky you will get a BSOD when you shut down pointing you to the problem. If that doesn't work try booting into Safe Mode and see if it will shut down normally from there.



Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
passey
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 59


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2005, 10:15:31 PM »

nope still same thing
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 31, 2018, 12:37:06 AM